How would I wire this up?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by andrewsnmorgan, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. andrewsnmorgan

    andrewsnmorgan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    This Reciever...http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882117397&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL041212&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL041212-_-EMC-041212-Index-_-Receivers-_-82117397-L0B
    This subwoofer..http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10906&cs_id=1090602&p_id=8248&seq=1&format=1#largeimage
    Do i need something else?
     
  2. andrewsnmorgan

    andrewsnmorgan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or should I just use a Passive sub? Like this?? http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10837&cs_id=1083705&p_id=4927&seq=1&format=2 (I prefer in wall)
     
  3. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    You would use a subwoofer cable like this: .
    That's all you'd need to run the sub. But I'm not sure what you mean when you ask would you need something else. What are you trying to do?
     
  4. andrewsnmorgan

    andrewsnmorgan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It went from RCA(amp) to +/-2(sub). So I am not sure what to do....
     
  5. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    You would use an RCA connection. From the product page: "If you are using an amplifier with a single mono subwoofer line level output, simply use an RCA "Y" cable to split the output and send it to the two line level inputs on the subwoofer. "
    So something like this: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603&p_id=6261&seq=1&format=2
    With this (and I don't know why this link didn't show up the first time): http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603&p_id=6305&seq=1&format=2
    I'm not sure why this sub requires the splitter. Most subs just use either the right or the left connector.
     
  6. andrewsnmorgan

    andrewsnmorgan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So no speaker wire is needed? It is just the RCA and power? and voila I have bass?
     
  7. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    Correct. No speaker wire for the sub.
     
  8. jharrisonmfsr

    jharrisonmfsr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, as long as you've got RCA ports on anything you don't need to do anything besides get yourself some RCA cables and plug everything in.
     

Share This Page