How to set amplifier gain?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones / Entertainment' started by Scott L, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have it very low, because I read somewhere it's best to have a good strong signal from the head unit rather than just amplifying a weak signal via the amp gain.

    So what's yours set at.. low/medium/high? Any rule of thumb on setting it?
     
  2. Frank Grimes

    Frank Grimes Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depnds totally on the amp and head unit being used. What equipment are you speaking of?
     
  3. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a basic system. Alpine 9813 > RF 551X > Focal Polyglass Components & Coax's. About 70wx4. thanks
     
  4. DonnyD

    DonnyD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    A general rule of thumb is to turn the amp gain all the way down, turn your HU volume to about 3/4, then slowly turn your amp gain up until you hear clipping or distortion, then back the amp gain down just a tad.

    Second option, check your specs on the HU to see how many volt output it has and set the amp accordingly.
     
  5. Sean^M

    Sean^M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Camm

    Camm Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Jared Rachwalsk

    Jared Rachwalsk Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rule of thumb....set it to what sounds best.

    Ask any installer and 9/10 times they set it by ear.

    Unless you are competing, then they only thing that matters is how it sounds to you.
     
  8. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    How convienient, this was my next thread. Do any of you know where I can get a simply 1khz unclipped with no attenuation as a singly track??? I saw Sean's link and it looks like I can use Track#6 on CD#2, however, I am on dialup and I'm not downloading 148MBs of data on dialup! I was wondering if anybody has a link to a simply 10 second track consisting of the above spec. I have an AC voltmeter already so all I need is the test tone...

    Jay
     
  9. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    "simply 1khz unclipped with no attenuation as a singly track"

    What the?

    HUH!

    Brent
     
  10. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Go to:

    PDF file below:

    http://totoro.efiregate.net/HTMLPage...20for%20CD.pdf

    Goto page 2, take a look at the track listings for CD#2. I want track#6, I don't want any other tracks, I don't need to hear what clipping sounds like and I don't need to make this into a PhD dissertation! I just want a test tone!

    Don't need it anytime soon, if I can't find one elsewhere, I'll wait til I'm back to work and download it there.

    Jay
     

Share This Page