How to replace Windows ME with Windows 98?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Richard Travale, Sep 1, 2001.

  1. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    My family just got a new computer that has Windows ME installed on it. Hell, It didn't even have the disc, just everything pre-installed. Anyway, there are some compatibility issues with different hardware and software. Things like gamepads and Norton Systemworks not being compatible with the new OS. So, how do you do it if you have access to a Windows 98 disc? Do you have to get rid of ME and then install 98, or can you just install 98 over top of ME? If it's going to be too much bother then I just won't. If it is a pretty easy process then guide away.
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  2. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Richard, by far the safest way is to save whatever data you need, format and install 98 from fresh. I have doubts that Me would even let you try and go 'back' to 98, but even if it worked there could be driver problems and godknows what else. MS OSs aren't good at upgrading (or downgrading). Much better to install anew.
     
  3. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Thanks Rob. I kind of figured that was going to be the case. So be prepared for many posts when I totally screw things up [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  4. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Richard, you can make your job a lot easier by gathering all the Windows 98 drivers for the hardware now rather than when trying to install. You'll need a boot floppy to get the system into DOS before the Win98 installation can start.
     
  5. Brian Harnish

    Brian Harnish Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Rob said, be SURE to make a boot disk before reformatting ANYTHING. If you don't have a boot disk, you will never be able to get your system back up. To create one, do this:
    Start > Settings > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs > Startup Disk tab > insert floppy disk into Floppy drive > click create disk button
    That's all there is to it [​IMG]
    ------------------
    - Brian
    My DVD Collection
    Want Sliders on DVD? Then please SIGN the petition!
     
  6. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wowahahaah. I'm not sure you can even create a boot disk in Windows Me. They took out most of the DOS support. I seem to remember a lot of people on AnandTech going ballistic over this very issue.
    However, you can go to www.bootdisk.com and get one there. Or I could always mail you over a .zip file of my original 98 installation floppy.
     
  7. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Thanks for the tips fellas. I just got the boot files and am in the process of getting all of the drivers. Cross your fingers for me would you? [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  8. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the computer is you regular store-bought fare, then expect a difficult time figuring out what hardware you even have. It can be tough reformatting a drive on a store-purchased PC.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  9. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Right, that's something then. I heard that MS had disabled the use of the /s parameter in FORMAT, which stops you creating your own DOS startup disks.
     
  11. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Well, I found out that since it is a Cicero computer, they basically use their own "version" of Windows ME. This means that the drivers for the sound card are only on the Cicero Windows ME disk(which I actually do have only it doesn't have a Windows logo on it [​IMG] ). Anyway, I re-installed Windows ME and somehow worked all of the bugs out of the system. I also found an updated driver for my gamepad(very good [​IMG] )
    So, long story short, I have decided to go with the ME (at least for the time being). Thanks for all the help fellas.
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  12. Graeme Clark

    Graeme Clark Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2000
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page