How To connect samsung bluray player To sony home theater system

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by RDJr, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    Hi
    I need help in connecting Samsung BD-D5300 Blu-ray Disc Player To Sony DAV-DZ640K DVD home theater system.

    MY TV doesn't have HDMI ports. it only has RCA (RED White Yellow) port.

    i need to play Blu-ray files from Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player and audio from my home theater system.

    http://www.sony.co.in/product/dav-dz640k
    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/BD-D5300/ZA

    I have also observed that while playing AC3 5.1 audio files Dialogue Volume is too low...
    it's so frustrating
    Please help

    thank you.
     
  2. ArmSC

    ArmSC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Real Name:
    Tony
    It looks like your BR player has a standard video out. Hook up the yellow RCA between the TV and the BR player. Now use the optical out on the BRP to connect into your Sony for sound. That is about the only way that I can think to make it work.
     
    RDJr likes this.
  3. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    thanks for replying...

    samsung BR Player has optical out but my sony dvd Home theater doesn't have any optical In port

    it only has RED White Yellow ports
    here is pic of my players.. the one on top is samsung BR player...

    20140415_211335.jpg
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Red/white...labelled out.Red/white labelled in.
     
    RDJr and ArmSC like this.
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    What TV is this?Does it have DVI?Is it HD ready?
     
  6. ArmSC

    ArmSC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Real Name:
    Tony
    I was going off of the manual that was linked when I suggested to use the optical cable. Now that the pic is up Schan has given you the best advice.
     
    RDJr likes this.
  7. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    its working...
    but audio is low...
    Dialogue Volume is too low... at full volume dialogues are audible but... when action scene comes its too too too loud...

    thanks for all utr help... i really appreciate

    thank you..
     
  8. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    DTS files are bit better than AC3..
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Turn on the DRC in either piece of equipment.
     
  10. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    I turned it off in both players....

    should i turn it on ??
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You said dialog is too low, action too loud.That is why DRC exists. Only use one. Whichever works best...to you.
     
    RDJr likes this.
  12. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    thanks a lot...
     
  13. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    A lot of low power HTiB have issues trying to do both clear dialog and "action".Real AVR based systems don't need to use DRC like HTiB does.
     
    RDJr likes this.
  14. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    still same... dialog is too low, action too loud. :(
     
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    It is possible the DRC only works digitally. HTiB have no features(That work as advertised) and everything has moved on to digital.Would not be shocked if DRC doesn't work analog out on the BD player. And willing to bet DRC only works on the HTiB if itself is spinning a disc.
     
  16. ArmSC

    ArmSC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Real Name:
    Tony
    Have you tried to adjust the levels of your speakers? I looked at the manual you linked and you can adjust the level +/- 6db on all the speakers on that unit. Maybe you should try to up the level of the center. Have you checked the sound mode you're using? That can also make a difference in the way it sounds. The manual references 6 different sound modes to choose from. One of the modes is "clear voice" this should make dialogue easier to hear.
     
    RDJr likes this.
  17. RDJr

    RDJr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nishant
    yes..
    i have already kept volume leve to +6
    and same thing happens with clear voice sound mode.. :(
    is it because i dont have HDMI cables ???


    and this is happening only with 5.1 channel audio not with 2 channel.. 2 channel audio sounds perfect...
     
  18. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    No. It because of HTiB. Buy a real AVR (there is, was??, a Denon on A4L for $100) and a 5.1 speaker set.There is a Yamaha set on Amazon that has hit $120. Parts Express/Dayton has their "no name" Energy Take for barely more.$400(At most) and you won't have these problems anymore...and you have the beginning of an entertainment system that can grow with your needs.
     
  19. Squashy

    Squashy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Josh
    Schan has really given you above and beyond the best advice. And as far as i remember drc only works digitally just like he said as well.
     

Share This Page