What's new

How much of a difference in sound quality is there amongt CD players? (1 Viewer)

Randal

Grip
Sorry 'bout the typo in the title. I didn't notice it until it was too late.

I'm new to the improved audio game. I'm not into H/T yet but I just bought a H/K 3370 receiver and have it married to my new Mirage frx-7's. I only have a single disc, Sony CDP-197 CD player. How much of an improvement in sound would it be to upgrade to a better CD player? Would I go, "holy mackeral, what HUGE improvement" or would it be more like, "uh, I think I can tell the difference?". If it's the former, I may start looking at better players. If so, how bought some suggestions on better CD players in the 3-4 hundred range.

J

John Morris

Randal: Since I know nothing about your current CD player, a specific answer would be hard to give you. However, I switched from using my Pioneer DVD player for CD playback to a Denon DCM-370 and the performance improvement was easily noticable. Then I changed from the Denon to a Sony c555es SACD player and when I played back a regular CD, I said, "Holy Cow, that is nice!" Both changes were easily identified as big improvements. YMMV.

Randal

Grip
John,

Checked out the link AND the price.........OUCH!!!!

So, in order to hear the benifits of "super audio" CD players, does one need to listen to specially coded "super audio" CD's? Or do they also improve the sound of regular CD's. Any super audio players in the $500. range?

J

John Morris