What's new

How many know HTML? (1 Viewer)

Brad_W

Screenwriter
I know a lot of basic HTML and will sometimes use the view source feature to learn how to do certain things. I used to make websites completely by hand in HTML.

Anyone else know/use HTML?

Why do I ask?

boredom.

nolesrule

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Kauffman
I know it. Taught it to myself in college. Now I get paid to know it. :)
But when it comes to the web, HTML is really such a minor part of the whole ball of wax these days, especially with programs like Dreamweaver where you can throw together your layout in no time (I never use FrontPage as it provides pretty bad HTML output) so you can concentrate on the scripting for dynamic sites.
Good tools to know these days include:
SSI
PHP
PERL
some flavor of SQL server (I tend to use MySQL)

Kevin Leonard

Supporting Actor
Well, like you two, I was self-taught and got a job as a webpage designer that I worked at until late September.

If you want to get paid for your web designing skills, it doesn't hurt to have a computer-related degree on the resume. However, when I got hired, I was fresh out of high school, and had no college degree to my name, so you may be like me and luck out. Location and each companies' hiring methods/requirements also play a big factor in getting paid for your HTML knowledge.

nolesrule

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Kauffman
I have a job at a website publishing company. We own lots of quality domains and put up sites at the domains. We're a small company (just 5 employees) so the dot-bomb crash didn't hurt us too much. When I was hired, there was only the boss and one other person. I was hired because I could hand-code HTML and could clean up their FrontPage messes. There's not much market for such a limited skill set like that anymore. At the time, my resume consisted of a football team fan website (which has since closed its doors, but the archive is still online) and a BA in Communications.