What's new

How long have you been collecting DVDs? (1 Viewer)

StephenA

Screenwriter
I've been collecting for 20 months now. I started in December of 2000 when I got my first four due to getting a Playstation 2, which were Gladiator, A Clockwork orange, Seven, and the Mummy(1999). Now I have 182(and climbing), and find the hobby very addicting. Too bad I didn't have the money to collect laserdiscs. I never really got into collecting VHS. DVD has gotten me to appreciate movies, and what goes into them alot more.

Real Name
Michael Shisler
I bought my first player,(an RCA) in Sept. of 1997 and have been steadily building my collection, (currently 314 titles) ever since.

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
I got my first DVD player around 8-98. In the 36 months that have passed since then I've added about 110 titles to my collection.

SteveGon

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Gonzales
I think it's been three years. See my sig for a link to my ever-growing, yet still woefully-incomplete collection!

Michael*K

Screenwriter
Bought my first DVD (Apollo 13) in November 1998. I bought my first DVD player in January 1999. Before I bought it, I owned a half-dozen films. The venerable old Panasonic A-110 just recently crapped out. Looks like I'll be selling her for parts. :frowning:

Bernhard

Stunt Coordinator
I got into DVD while being on my U.S. trip in May 1998. I bought a Creative Encore DVD Kit for the computer (didn't get a 'real' DVD player until christmas '98) and my first three DVDs: Starship Troopers, Contact and Tomorrow never dies.
Boy, has it really been over FOUR years?!
htf_images_smilies_smiley_jawdrop.gif

Leila Dougan

Screenwriter
I got my first DVD player (Creative Encore) in the fall of 98 when I built my new computer. I only bought a few DVDs the first year couple of years but when I bought my first "real" DVD player in 2000 I've been collecting 'em like a madwoman.

Patrick McCart

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Patrick McCart