How can I get "real" 5.1 sound when I can only connect stereo sound from tv to hometheatre

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by retaeht, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    IF you have RealTek(which is what I have)

    The second option(assuming you don't have a USB Bluetooth) is "Digital Output".

    When you click that it will show the HDMI and(if it has one) an icon showing L/R digital headphone(which means mini-Toslink).
     
  2. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    I only have:
    speakers (internal)
    headphones
    hdmi(disabled until connect to tv)
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    When you click headphones...

    Does it branch off as analog and digital?

    If not...no mini-toslink
    If yes, it does have mini-toslink.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Click "Properties"

    That is where you are given your digital output options. If HDMI is it...HDMI is it.
     
  5. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    It only has two channels and I can't change anything for it.
     
  6. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    Also, the Aiwa has 6 input jacks (for 5.1 surround). Are you sure I can't have real 5.1 on it?
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    In that case. You can(helps to mention all available inputs).

    But...the "cost" of buying a USB to 6 channel adapter(you could have bought a computer with one already) isn't cheap.

    Well, it is, if you buy junk.
    http://www.amazon.com/GWC-Technology-AA1500-Channel-Adapter/dp/B003SA9E1A/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1394743186&sr=1-1&keywords=usb+6+channel

    Third of the way to the Denon...
    http://www.amazon.com/Vantec-External-Channel-Audio-Adapter/dp/B004HXGJ3S/ref=sr_1_5?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1394743341&sr=1-5&keywords=usb+5.1

    And you need three of these...(whichever one you get)
    http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-Cable-CMR206-Stereo-Adapter/dp/B000068O33/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1394743400&sr=1-2&keywords=1%2F8th+rca

    And...your computer has to support 5.1(just because it has HDMI doesn't mean it does...check your specs. There are add-on software you need. Ubuntu and a 5.1 renderer if your current software doesn't have one...and your current software, if one isn't there...has to support one you download)
     

Share This Page