Hooking up a Mac Monitor to a PC (VGA only)

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Scott L, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have a nice ~21" widescreen Mac LCD just sitting at a desk that no one's using. My Dell only has a VGA port (unfortunately) while the LCD only seems to have a DVI connection.

    Is there a way I can use the monitor on my PC?
     
  2. Adam Bluhm

    Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you just need an adapter cable, then? If I'm reading you right, you can get a DVI>VGA (or visa versa) adapter plug. My video card came with two. They should be pretty cheap.

    You could try this or something similar. I'm not sure if the male/female ends will match up correctly.
     
  3. Dennis*G

    Dennis*G Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it will work, even with an adapter. Only two options are digital out to either analog in or digital in, you can not do analog out to digital in. So you really need a graphics card with DVI for it to work.
     
  4. RichP

    RichP Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1998
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    No can do. The DVI Apple Cinema Displays are DVI-D only, and cannot be fed an analog signal. You'll need to either get a converter box that can switch between VGA and DVI-D (not cheap), or as stated above, get a graphics card with a DVI-D out.
     
  5. Adam Bluhm

    Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oops. Thanks for correcting me, guys. I don't mean to give mis-information.
     
  6. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info guys. I'll just keep pestering my boss for a VGA LCD [​IMG]
     
  7. Yumbo

    Yumbo Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a G4 iMac (lamp) with dead or dark screen. I read a while back on some forums on troubleshooting - either reset PRAM and check something else - anyone know how to do both?

    Otherwise, is it possible to use the VGA out to use with an ADC display?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Christian Behrens

    Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Real Name:
    Christian Behrens
    Would be cheaper to get a gfx card with DVI out... unless you get an el-cheapo 14" VGA monitor [​IMG]

    -Christian
     

Share This Page