Hooking Dreamcast up to Mits 55807

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by William Ward, Sep 28, 2001.

  1. William Ward

    William Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    What's the best method to hook the DC up to the my widescreen TV?? Also, does the DC have a 16/9 mode??
    Thanks
    ------------------
    William
    Go Bucs!!
    MyDVDs
     
  2. Jason Seaver

    Jason Seaver Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    9,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't really have a 16:9 "mode", but some games can be made to render that way. A 16:9 screen doesn't actually have any more pixels than a 4:3 one; they're just shaped differently.
    I mean, if you wanted to, you could build an Atari 2600 game with a 16:9 mode. 16:9 vs 4:3 is almost purely a software issue.
     
  3. Wolf Jenkins

    Wolf Jenkins Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1998
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you had a Diamond or platinum plus, the absolute best way would be to use the VGA input - in short, it ROCKS.
    I THINK you could do this: get a VGA converter for the DC and then use a VGA to component breakout cable and hook it to the HDTV input. I think you'll then get 480 progressive scan signal...
    Not sure on that though - someone else may know for sure, but this is the reason I got a 55857.
     
  4. Leroy

    Leroy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you'd get a true progressive scan signal since the Dreamcast doesn't support it. But it certainly should look great ruuning thru the VGA box. I have mine hooked up to my Mits 46807 with just the composite cables and it looks great.
     
  5. Nathan A

    Nathan A Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 55807 and have it hooked up with S-video. I think trying to buy any type of converter to run into the component inputs would be more expensive than it's worth. Dreamcast S-video cables can be had now for as cheap as $3.00. I paid $10.00 for my Pelican cable, and it works great. It's not a huge improvement over composite, but definitely noticeable.
     
  6. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    2
    Doesn't Audio Authority make a box that converts the VGA output to component? I was looking around the page but I'm not sure i found the right thing ( http://209.248.228.2/vgacom.html ).
    Anyway, for a Mits, I think Wolf hit the nail right on the head. Get a VGA adapter & and a VGA breakout cable & run it into the BNC inputs on the tv. I haven't tried it, but I remember this topic coming up a while ago.
    -Dave
    ------------------
    DVD List
     
  7. Troy LaMont

    Troy LaMont Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    2
    Troy,
    Is that the correct converter on the link I posted?
    Thanks,
    -Dave
    ------------------
    DVD List
     
  9. Troy LaMont

    Troy LaMont Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave,
    That would be it. Hopefully he won't have to spend all that money for the convertor if he has a VGA input or if his RBGHV connection is open.
    Tory
    ------------------
     
  10. Wolf Jenkins

    Wolf Jenkins Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1998
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly - if you ever seen Soul Calibur in 480p glory, you'd never go back to anything less. It's OUTSTANDING.
     
  11. William Ward

    William Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm currently using a S-Video connection. I got the box that has the VGA, composite, and S-Video connections on it. My RGB/HV connection is taken by my HDTV receiver. The only thing I have open is a standard component input. It will do 480p although I'll need to find a VGA to Component converter. Do they even make them??
    ------------------
    William
    Go Bucs!!
    MyDVDs
     
  12. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. Troy LaMont

    Troy LaMont Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave,
    That was funny! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Troy
    ------------------
     
  14. William Ward

    William Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a smacking head smilie/icon???
    That's expensive though....Maybe for Christmas.
    Does the VGA connection make the solid reds and blues look better??? I notice on my extra monitor that the solid colors are smooth but on my 55807 there's black x's throughout the color.
    Would the VGA connection keep the colors right? If it won't, then it's not worth it to me because I get a viewable picture with the S-Video cable.
    An example would be the Red jerseys of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers on NFL 2K1 or the Yellow pants of the Michigan Wolverines on NCAA Football 2K2.
    ------------------
    William
    Go Bucs!!
    MyDVDs
     
  15. Troy LaMont

    Troy LaMont Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    0
    William,
    Check this one out... [​IMG]
    If you're an EBay'er, you can find either the RCA version or the Audio Authority box for less than $50 usually!
    Here's one starting out at $9.99 with no reserve!!! Audio Authority for $9.99
     

Share This Page