What's new

Home Theater Tuners with out Amp (1 Viewer)

gc1988

Auditioning
Real Name
Giancarlo
Hi, new to the site got a question, tried searching for it but doesn’t seem to be on here.

I am a sound engineer, when it comes to large rigs and concerts I am in heaven. Thing is when it comes to home theater I am a little at a loss.

The pre-packaged home theater in a box or the available speakers for the medium do it yourselfer in my opinion are all shit! I want high quality, crisp mid range, a speaker able to deliver 5way sound and touch frequencies that only a dog could hear. In other words the quality i am use to when doing a concert setup worth 5 million in equipment.

So very simple question I am looking for a tuner that can provide the video processing I need with HDMI in, optical audio in for blu-ray and such but doesn't have an amp inside to provide power to the speakers that’s where I come in.

Any suggestions are welcome, and no smart a$$** if you have an inferiority complex take it up with your therapist.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
You are looking for a Pre-Pro.

Do you have a budget?

Cause you could get the AVM 50, or the Integra DHC 40.3.

There is also the Emotiva and Outlaw "$600-ish" out there.

Type A

HW Reviewer
Real Name
Ty
Welcome to the forum Giancarlo :)

Sam made some great suggestions. I would also consider older Marantz gear, nothing says you must use the internal amps and their older AVRs still make excellent pre/pros.

Selden Ball

Second Unit
Real Name
Selden
Giancarlo,

What kind of budget is involved?