What's new

Home Theater Setup help needed (1 Viewer)

Lappies

Auditioning
Real Name
Louis
Hi, I have trouble setting up my home theater correctly. Can anyone please help..?

ArmSC

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Tony
Welcome to the Forum!

What problems are you having with your HT system? What exactly isn't working?

Lappies

Auditioning
Real Name
Louis
I have the following equipment:
Philips UHDTV
Yamaha SRT1500 Soundbase
Roku 4
Digital Cable TV box
I am not experienced in this Home Theater field so please bear with me.
This is how I connected the lot...
Roku is connected to the Yamaha Soundbase via HDMI. The Roku is set to display of 4K content.
The Soundbase HDMI ports are compatible with HDCP2.2
The Soundbase HDMI out is connected to the Philips UHDTV via HDMI cable to the Philips HDMI (1) port which is compatible with HDCP2.2
The Digital Cable TV box is connected via HDMI to the Philips UHDTV via HDMI (2) on the TV which is not HDCP2.2
I have an optical sound cable connected from the Digital Cable TV box to the Soundbase optical port for sound when watching TV channels.
Is this setup correct...?
I noticed the Roku display can also be set to 4K 10Bit...but if I select this display type then I get an error on the Philips TV "This content can not be viewed on your TV. Please connect the TV which corresponds to HDCP2.2 with HDMI Out of this unit"
I also noticed that since I selected 4K display mode on the Roku, the TV display are not as smooth (although very clear) and seems to have tiny ripples during camera movement.
Please help where you can as I am so frustrated.
Your assistance and guidance is appreciated.
Just as a last note...I have ordered a Kinivo K300 Premium 3-Port High Speed 4K HDMI Switch to plug everything into this unit and the one HDMI output to the Philips UHDTV's HDMI port which supports HDCP2.2
Not sure if any of this makes sense to you...

ArmSC

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Tony