What's new

Home Theater Help! (1 Viewer)

djabi90

Auditioning
Real Name
Abimael Meda
Hello everybody. I am new to home theater forums and I would like to say hi to everybody! I am 22 and living on my own in an apartment. I'm hoping I could get some help on a Home Theater I want to set up!
Well let me first start of by stating that I want a 5.1 Surround Sound and on a 600$ budget.
I was looking at HTIB and their are so many of them that its hard to choose from. I did narrow it down to one that I really want which is the Yamaha YHT-597. I picked this mostly because the receiver has AirPlay and because it comes with a MIC that automatically calibrates your speakers.
I could not find any reviews on this system. If anyone knows of a review please let me know!
My other question was how good are these speakers? If these speakers aren't that great I would prefer to buy the receiver alone the Yamaha RX-V473($400) and add some Klipsch HD 500 5.1($200).
What do you guys think? Would you choose something else? Any recommendations are appreciated! Thanks alot!

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
Hello Abimael,
Welcome to Hometheaterforums!!!
Ok lets dive right in. Im going to start with some questions so that we may better help you.
What sources are you going to be using? (DVR, PS3, Xbox, Blu-ray player...? etc)
What kind of TV and what are it's inputs?
How big is your room?
Do you share a wall with any neighbors?
Will you listen to music out of this same setup?
Where are you? ( not all speakers are available globally)
Ok now for some general advice. Speaker companies make better speakers than electronic companies, in general.
There are two scenarios, one you share a wall or a building with neighbors and the use of that klipsch subwoofer will get you evicted, or you live in a stand alone apt and you can rock as hard and long as you want.