Home network issues

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Jon_Are, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to re-install the OS on my laptop. While it can connect to the internet, it does not see the two desktops I have on the network (nor the printers).

    When trying to set it up manually, it asks for my username and password.

    Anyone know how I can find this info?

    (or, what my password is? [​IMG])

    Thanks!

    Jon
     
  2. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Do you have your computers running through a hub? Did you set it up where one of them is a wireless connection? Did you set up a username/password for the wireless connection?
     
  3. drobbins

    drobbins Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Dave
    If it is a Linksys router, try
    User name: root
    Password: admin

    If you can not see the other computers, make sure that you have the same "workgroup" name. (assuming you are using windows)
     
  4. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, guys. I seemed to have fixed the password problem (it's a netgear....username: admin, password: password.

    And my laptop can see the two desktops (one running xp, the other vista)

    But now I can't get the laptop to see either printer. I've uninstalled and re-installed the printers and set them to share, but no luck.

    The laptop cannot find them automatically, and I can't figure out how to install them manually. How do I find the info needed to install the printers manually?

    Thanks again,

    Jon
     
  5. DarrenHo

    DarrenHo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    are the printers connected to the hub or the other computers? are they set to be shared if on a host computer?
     
  6. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here’s the setup:
    One desktop running XP, printer attached.
    One desktop running Vista, printer attached.
    One laptop connected wirelessly, running Vista.
    Both desktops connected directly to the router.
    Both printers set to share.
    Is it possible to connect a printer directly to the hub??
    Thanks,
    Jon
     
  7. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    John:

    If you have the printers set up to be shared across your network all of the computers on your network should have access to the printer.
     
  8. chuckg

    chuckg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    My printer has an ethernet port, and it is on the 'net. Each of my computers must have the printer driver installed to operate the printer.

    You can get a cheap device that will connect an older parallel-port printer onto the network.
     
  9. don monteith

    don monteith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look at your firewall. If you reinstalled your OS it will turn it on automatically. Turn it off and see if you can see the printers.

    Don
     
  10. Bryan X

    Bryan X Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    3

    It's a good idea to change the username and password from the default.
     
  11. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whew, looks like all is fixed.

    The culprits: PC-cillin internet security suite interfering (probably conflicting with Windows firewall); Different workgroup names on different computers; and something else I fixed that I can't even remember [​IMG].

    Bryan, I did change my default password on the router. Thanks.

    And thanks to everyone else for your suggestions.

    Jon
     
  12. Ray Chuang

    Ray Chuang Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speaking of home network issues, it appears my Netgear WGR614 v6 router is on its last legs. It started to not transmit Internet data correctly (web pages wouldn't load properly [​IMG] ), confirmed when I directly connected my DSL modem to the Ethernet port on my computer, which corrected the issue.

    Any suggestions for a good replacement router that works well and is long-term reliable?
     
  13. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    I use the venerable Linksys WRT54G. Has 4 ports plus it does wireless too. I think it runs about $50 at B&M stores. I bought mine about 3 years ago and it works great.
     
  14. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    I picked up a Linksys WTN150 a few months ago and couldn't be happier running 3 wireless and 2 wired PCs through it. It works great with N, G and B with no issues on compatibility and comes WPA, WEP and PSK encryption.
     
  15. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    You have me beat, Parker! I think mine just works with G and B and does not do PSK.
     
  16. Ray Chuang

    Ray Chuang Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks! I'll find a source for the WTN150 and get one. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page