Hollywood's New Thing: Front Loading

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Peter Kline, Aug 27, 2001.

1. Peter Kline

Peter Kline Cinematographer

This article from Jack Mathews of the New York Daily News explains it all. Interestingly, "Pearl Harbor" actually opened on 6000 screens not the 3200+ as Disney stated.
    http://nydailynews.com/today/New_Yor...s/a-123086.asp
    [Edited last by Peter Kline on August 27, 2001 at 05:20 PM]

2. Chauncey_G

Chauncey_G Second Unit

I've been working in movie theaters for the past 15 years, the past 5 or so in multi-plexes of 12 or more screens. I am able to puff my self up with pride and say, "I've been saying that for 5 years now."
    One thing the article doesn't talk about is that there are so many theaters all over the place now that not only can everyone see a film on it's opening weekend, but all those people are spread out across many different movie houses. With the audience being so spread out, no ONE theater or theater chain makes any real money off the newest blockbuster. That being the case, they try to build more, bigger theaters to get a larger share of the audience. This just spreads it out more because the competition does the same, and now they're saddled with huge theaters with huge overhead costs. All the while, the same audience just keeps on getting spread thinner and thinner over all these theaters.
    This, then, creates situations in which print quality can suffer because they don't have enough people to keep a close eye on things, which sends more and more people to HBO, Pay-per-View and DVD sales to get their movie fix.

3. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

Remember how films used to be released on a limited "roadshow" engagement for their first few months--that's right, months--and then on a wide "showcase" run that, in some cases, could last for years?
    Also, remember how, in those days, a popular film's ad would be bannered "34th week!" or somesuch?