What's new

Hi, I am new to HT stuff...need help on start up speakers (1 Viewer)

MurthyK

Auditioning
I've just bought a Yamaha 5550 receiver and am looking for a 5.1 speaker system. I've ordered KLH 9670 but got feeling that it could be of very low quality even for a start up..

I know and understand from my reading over several threads, that most of u hate BOSE for whatever the reason.
I've had a chance to listen only to BOSE and never had listened to any thing of that or better quality.
So, compared to Bose lifestyle systems, how this KLH stuff perform..!!

is there anything else thats good around $200 range !!
let me put it this way, if I want to beat BOSE, whats the minimum price I have to put fr the speakers (5.1) with the receiver mentioned.

so whats you suggestion when my budget is around $300, $500 for the speakers(5.1)

I am mostly interested in surround sound than loud stuff...I'll never use it loudly..I'll use it for soft music, dvd movies..etc..audio Cd's too.
so I am not looking at 200 watt sub.
I'll be using the HT in a basement of 20 X 30
or may be in a living room of size 17 X 25
nothing abnormal..I guess its very normal/minimum requirement.

One thing I've noticed in several threads is that as the speaker size reduces, the distance should also be limited.!!
if thats true, then I should go for floor speaker instead of small satellite speakers..
whats the minimum things to look for when buying a speaker.

I wish thers a speaker buyer guide somewhere..may be its there..just that I don't know.!!
anyway, any help and ideas are welcome and most valuable for me..

-Thanks and appreciate your help
Murthy

Bill_Wil

Stunt Coordinator

JeremyFr

Supporting Actor