What's new

helping a friend put subs in his local sports bar (1 Viewer)

JoeGibs

Stunt Coordinator
I'm helping a friend do a subwoofer setup in his sports bar. Everything is already up and running, minus the subs. the rca's are already run to the locations for the subwoofers, all I need to do is either build the sub from scratch or find him some pre-made powered subs.

i'm much more of a car audio guy, so i'm not too familiar with the home equipment. i've done a full HT setup of my own, by i'm by no means an expert, nor do I know what's good for any type of application as far as equipment goes.

There will be one sub on each end of the bar, which is about 25-30 feet long.

-12's are the only thing that will fit.
-airspace sealed or vented cant gross more than about 3cf.
-louder the better :)
-has to be able to withstand a beating, this is being used for music in a bar
-budget for subs/amps/enclosures (i can build enclosures) is ~$1000

give me some ideas, either something pre-made or something i'd have to build myself, either is perfectly fine.

thanks for any ideas :)

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Greg
Take a good look at the Labhorn project. This is a folded horn (i.e. no exposed drivers) and is designed exactly for the purpose that you are using it for. The folded horn topology will give you tons of output on a lower budget (assuming you have the construction skills).

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Greg
Could you give us some more details about your space issues?

1) Why will only a 12" driver work?
2) What width, height, and spacing do you have to work with?
3) If this space is so small, why was it selected as a spot to run the sub to?
4) Could you mount anything to the ceiling?

JoeGibs

Stunt Coordinator
The bar area is quite crowded already. There has been one sub running previously, but it toasted, and my friend decided it was time to upgrade.