What's new

Help, I need some speakers to match my new amp. (1 Viewer)

dennis boyle

Auditioning
Real Name
Dennis
New on here and setting up home theatre system for the first time. I have just purchased an Integra DTR-8.8 and now need to get some speakers to run with it. My plan is to run a 5.1 system in my HT room and then use the other channels to run speakers in the kitchen.
I am a complete novice at this so what should I be looking for?
Any help, advice much appreciated.
Specs for reciever below: (not really sure what is relevent and what is'nt. I realise with speakers you need to listen to them and specs are only a small part of the picture but I need a ballpark to search within)
Rated Output Power (FTC)
All channels 140 watts minimum continuous power per channel, 8 ohm loads, 2 channels driven from 20 Hz to 20 kHz, with a maximum total harmonic distortion of 0.05% (FTC)
170 watts minimum continuous power per channel, 8 ohm loads, 2 channels driven at 1 kHz, with a maximum total harmonic distortion of 0.7% (FTC)
180 watts minimum continuous power per channel, 6 ohm loads, 2 channels driven at 1 kHz with a maximum total harmonic distortion of 0.1% (FTC)
Maximum Output Power (JEITA) 7 ch x 280 W at 6 ohms, 1 kHz, 1 ch driven
Dynamic Power 400 W (3 ohm, Front)
300 W (4 ohm, Front)
180 W (8 ohm, Front)
Frequency Response 5 Hz–100 kHz/ +1 dB-3 dB (Direct mode)
Speaker Impedance 4ohm–16ohm
From my limited understanding I could run speakers with an Impedance between 4ohm-16ohm, is this right? If my speakers had a 6ohm impedance then i would need the speakers to be able to handle 280watts?? 8ohm 170watts??
Help please.

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton