What's new

HELP. Debt Collector - I have no idea what to do! (1 Viewer)

CRyan

Screenwriter
OK. Well this has got to be the dumbest thing I have ever dealt with. This is my first time dealing with something like this

Here is the deal. About a year ago I rented many cars from Avis in Texas for work. I live in Tennessee. I dont get insurance as my company advises against it and they will cover (they have insurance for this). SOooo. One time when returning the car, the worker does their little walk around the car and says what happened here? I said "nothing, the car is being returned as I received it." They had me sign a form where I wrote that exact phrase and initialed. I thought nothing more about it.

I dont know if anyone uses AVIS, but In DFW, they DO NOT do a walk around with you. In fact, they send you to your car where the keys are already in it. You just get in and drive away. So how do they even know there was nothing wrong with it when I took it. There could have been something done in the parking garage where I got it.

ANYWAY, I then moved to a new house. Fast Foward to now (a year later). I get a call from a debt collection service (J&R). They tell me that Avis turned me over to them for an amount of $832 for an accident I had in an Avis rental car. So after a little thought it hit me... I moved, Avis must have mailed me information regarding this matter after the 6 month mail forwarding was over.

Now I am dealing with this collection agency who is now threatening to affect my credit record. My credit record is SPOTLESS. I dont want it screwed with. But this is REDICULOUS. I DO NOT want them to get a cent (not even from my company). AVIS had my work number. THEY NEVER tried to contact me directly. THEY had my cell number! They never tried to contact at that number either! The colletion agency had NO trouble getting me by phone. They got me on their FIRST attempt. What the Hell AVIS?