HDMI splitters and switches

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by dmatz, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. dmatz

    dmatz Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to split the HDMI output from my Directv to 2 TV's. I first tried a straight splitter. It worked with only 1 TV connected but when I connected the 2nd.I had no picture on either TV. So I tried a HDMI switch. Same results. I have read several forums and have found posts with the exact same results and also posts where they have done this and it works fine. Does anyone know why this happens? Are there any devices that would work for my application. Thanks
     
  2. zip031

    zip031 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see they sell cheap 1 in 2 out HDMI splitters on Ebay but I have not tried them. Some are powered and some are not. I would like to get a 1 in 3 out but have not seen any.
     
  3. dmatz

    dmatz Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one. I got it from Parts Express in 2008. It is a triangular plastic box with a button switch on it. Their pn 180-612.


    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=180-612&FTR=180-612


    I can't get any signal thru it.

    I also have a 3 way splitter I got from amazon. Same deal... no signal when I plug in the second output.


    http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlimited-Premium-Splitter-PCM-2275/dp/B000KUYTDE/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1295713916&sr=8-16


    I also just found the above splitter on amazon while scrolling for above p/n at half the price


    http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-1-Out-Auto-Switch-Cable/dp/B0018DQYQ2/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1295714046&sr=8-5
     
  4. zip031

    zip031 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The first and last items are 3 input to one output switches not splitters and will not do what you want. Often I see the switches advertised as a splitter/switch. The second item is a one input to two output splitter cable. I see many of these on ebay. The more expensive ones require a separate power source. I think that is what you need but I'm not 100% sure. Look at this:


    Deleted by moderator. eBay links are not allowed.
     
  5. Phil Taylor

    Phil Taylor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whether you get a splitter or a switch - I have found that powered versions work ... non-powered not so much...
     
  6. dmatz

    dmatz Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. Have you found a particular brand/model that works well
     
  7. Phil Taylor

    Phil Taylor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    The switch I have does not have a name on it anywhere - but it's powered and works well. Found it on Amazon - don't recall the listing title but it was powered and had the best reviews ... I know... not a lot of help there but it's been a long time ago when I got it...
     
  8. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    This specific question has probably been asked and answered many times over, but I'm not finding it easily and I'd like to purchase something ASAP:


    I want to set up a way to watch the occasional 3D movie without swapping cables around, and without dropping several hundred bucks on a new player just yet. What's the recommended HDMI splitter or switch for this purpose, when the BD player has one HDMI output, one's 1-year-old receiver is pre-1.4, and one has no intention of replacing the receiver any time soon? A quality player like the Oppo 93 has 2 HDMI outputs, but until I'm ready to pop for that I need a low-priced solution to the cable switching madness.


    This might be over-simplification, but I envision a Y-connection cable or box connected to the player's output, enabling HDMI runs to both receiver and TV. When I want to watch 3D, all I'd have to do is switch the TV input to HDMI-2 or whatever, leaving the receiver set to the regular Blu-ray input for the audio. Is that the way this should work, and is there a low-cost product that makes it happen?
     
  9. Craig.c

    Craig.c Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0


    I'm in the same position (although I do own the Oppo) due to the number of devices I have. (Cable box, Blu-ray, HD DVD, Media player and X-box). I use mono price switches and haven't had any issues with them. These don't split the signal, but will allow you to switch between inputs
     
  10. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    Yes, thanks, I'm probably wrong in using the term "splitter". But this isn't a matter of wanting to switch between them, either. The receiver needs the audio and the TV needs the 3D video, so both HDMI routes need to be "live". The only switching I see myself doing is at the TV's own HDMI inputs.
     
  11. davin110

    davin110 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The answer to whether HDMI splitters degrade signal quality depends on who you ask. The truth is that it's a highly subjective experience. If you start with a regular cable broadcast and use a quality HDMI splitter, you may not notice any decline in signal. However, if you're watching 1080p video from your high-end Blu-ray player and you use a low-quality HDMI splitter cable, you're likely to see a significant decline in signal quality.
     
  12. zip031

    zip031 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chas in CT


    Is there no optical or coaxial audio out from the the 3D player that you can use to feed the receiver?
     
  13. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    Yes, there is, but what I was asking about (and probably failed to specify) was lossless audio tracks, which on my player are only available via the HDMI port. It doesn't have the 5.1 analog outputs, or that might have worked for this.


    Anyway, I've done further research and found no nifty little product capable of dealing with this situation. There are splitters for other applications, not for this one. To view 3D and run lossless through the surround system, I have to replace either the player or the receiver. Presumably, when I'm ready to pop for the Oppo 93, which has two HDMI outputs, that will solve this.


    In the meantime, when I want to watch a 3D movie I'll have to (1) move the master HDMI cable from the receiver's output to the Blu-ray player's output, and (2) run audio between player and receiver via optical or digital coax. (I don't know if it makes sense to leave that connected the rest of the time, when HDMI is being used.) If this doesn't sound completely right or I'm forgetting something important, please speak up. Thanks.
     
  14. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    Okay, got it working fine, and in spite of whatever the optical connection does to downgrade the lossless audio, Coraline and Avatar sounded spectacular. I'll practice the switchover tomorrow to get used to it. Pain in the ass, but I can deal, and without spending a bloody extra cent. All is well.
     
  15. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    15,672
    Likes Received:
    671
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam


    Never use any HDMI splitter/switcher that does not plug into a wall. It will cause problems.





     
  16. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    15,672
    Likes Received:
    671
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam

    The optical cable is giving you really good DVD quality audio. I am in the same boat right now. I have an AVR that doesn't support 3D passthrough. I'm looking at either the Oppo BD-93 or the Panasonic DMP-BD310 (coming soon) as they both have dual HDMI outputs. I have an Oppo BD-83 that I am very happy with, but the Pansonic has lots of bells and whistles and is under $250, half the cost of the Oppo, so I am on the fence.
     
  17. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    Whoa. Didn't know about that 310. I love Oppo, but thanks for the heads up.
     

Share This Page