HD XA1 for $300 - good deal or not?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Dave>h, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. Dave>h

    Dave>h Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    HI,
    I have a chance to pick up an XA1 for $300. Apparently the door that hides the tray no longer closes on its own (his kid broke it) but it will still close manually.

    I already have an A1 but thought the XA1 might be a good addition for my bedroom TV (although the TV has only component in so I am not sure if I can upconvert regular DVD via component on this machine.).

    Thoughts please.

    Thanks,

    Dave
     
  2. Bob_L

    Bob_L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bob Lindstrom
    With the A2 so cheap, why bother with a used, broken XA1 (if you don't need the analog outs)?
     
  3. Robert_Zohn

    Robert_Zohn Value Electronics
    Insider

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Scarsdale, NY
    Real Name:
    Robert Zohn
    Dave, I agree with Bob L. However, if you want the XA1 because of the 5.1 analog outputs or excellent build quality consider buying a new XA1 as they are available for $300 brand new.

    -Robert
     
  4. Dave>h

    Dave>h Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    Managed to convince him to sell it for $200, which given the build quality of the machine, is a good deal in Bermuda.

    Can anyone tell me if I will be able to watch upconverted SD via component from this machine? AS I recall, only disks that are not copy protected can be upconverted via component but I am not sure if that is true.

    Thanks,

    Dave
     
  5. Robert_Zohn

    Robert_Zohn Value Electronics
    Insider

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Scarsdale, NY
    Real Name:
    Robert Zohn
    Dave, Sorry to say you are correct, no up-converting of SD DVD through the component video output.

    Enjoy the HD DVD player!

    -Robert
     
  6. Dave>h

    Dave>h Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    I recently saw a cable that did HDMI to Component (i assume it was to output HDMI to component in) Would that get around the DRM that precludes upconverted SD DVD through component? Or is there some sort of handshake via HDMI that must occur before the player lets up converted images to be output via HDMI?

    Just curious as I can't see the point of that cord otherwise, unless there is some sort of High Def system that output via component and someone had an HDMI display and that was how they wanted to connect it. Although why you wouldn't just go component to component, I don't know, Would have thought that the pq would be the same.

    Dave
     
  7. Dave>h

    Dave>h Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    Guess I spoke too soon.

    The guy I was supposed to buy from backed out of the deal. So much for a contract...

    Oh well, guess there will only be one HD DVD player in my house instead of two.

    I guess I can wait for a decently priced combo player or a decently priced HD DVD with analog 5.1 outs.

    Dave
     

Share This Page