HD vs SD aspect ratios ( newbie alert )

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by steve.g.szabo, May 11, 2006.

  1. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to the site - please forgive me if this has been addressed in another thread.

    I have The Last Samurai in SD-DVD and HD-DVD formats. According to the
    packages the SD is in 2.35:1 and the HD is in 2.40:1. When I view the SD version on my SD player the black bars are about 3" thick while if I view the HD version on my new Toshiba HD player the black bars are about 1/2 the thickness ( running at 1080i ).

    Example:

    SD-DVD version:

    [​IMG]

    HD-DVD version:

    [​IMG]

    Keep in mind that these pics illustrate the ratio not the actual content ( the image on my TV is not warped as in these pics )

    Is this to be expected? I thought that if both versions were using the same apsect ratio that the thickness of the black bars would be almost the same.

    I just want to ensure that I'm not loosing any of the frame ( left and right )

    Thanks
     
  2. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,294
    Likes Received:
    30
    Depends on a lot of things. Is your overscan set the same for both inputs? The difference can be enormous.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Depends on your TV. Many TV's have separate height and width settings for SD and HD. AKA Overscan. Likely you are seeing this. It's more your Tv's fault than anything else.

    Regards
     
  4. Rob_HD

    Rob_HD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's just what I was going to say [​IMG] check overscan settings.
     
  5. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think my TV has any overscan options

    HITACHI 46F500
     
  6. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    See if you can run an HD DVD downconverted image via the S video to the TV to tell if the transfer aspect ratio is the offender here rather than your TV.

    Regards
     
  7. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Delete double post
     
  8. GlennH

    GlennH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1998
    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Real Name:
    Glenn
    The overscan on my Pioneer Elite is much larger with HD input (1080i, 33 kHz) vs. on SD (480p, 31.5 kHz).
     
  9. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    steve, try running a 1:1.85 or 1:1.77 480i dvd in your player. Do you still get black bars?
     
  10. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try this when I get home this eve ( at work now )

    I should also mention that I have the same problem with the HD player viewing
    SD-DVD titles at 1080i

    When I do this it looks like the TV has zoomed in on the image
     
  11. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been playing with various configs using HDMI, S-Video and Component
    which all generate the same output. I've also tried changing the video settings
    of the HD player with nothing to report. After playing some SD titles I've decided that the best thing for me to do is to return the HD player as the aspect
    ratio is also changed when viewing these older titles.

    Thanks for your suggestions
     
  12. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm. it sounded as though the player with the wide borders was set to 4:3 mode (instead of 16:9). oh well.
     
  13. Sean Bryan

    Sean Bryan Sean Bryan
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    543
    Real Name:
    Sean

    Well, they certainly wouldn't be in any user menus. Overscan adjustments would only be accessable through the service menu I would think.
     
  14. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    I tried all 3 settings with the same results:

    16:9
    4:3
    4:3 letterbox
     
  15. Robert Harris

    Robert Harris Archivist
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    9,198
    Likes Received:
    5,011
    Real Name:
    Robert Harris
    Please consider calling Toshiba tech support and allowing them to walk you through setup. Something must be amiss, and they're generally quite good.

    Both player and monitor must be set up to sync with one another.

    Welcome to HTF.

    RAH
     
  16. steve.g.szabo

    steve.g.szabo Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    I did and they told me that this was to be expected
     

Share This Page