HD Input Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Greg Lovern, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a Philips 60PP9601 TV for ten years. The HD input seems to have stopped working. I see no signal at all when I attach a blu-ray player or TivoHD to it, but I do see video from same devices if I attach them to the 480i input. Can I replace the HD input myself? Thanks, Greg
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Did you recently switch devices? Like a DVD to a BD player?
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Now I'm confused. You have more than 1 Component connection and 1 HD VGA. Which HD is not working?
     
  4. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm referring to the component inputs.
    Would it make sense to look for a component-to-VGA adapter to use the TV's HD VGA input? Would that be the same resolution as Component?
    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Uhh... Have no idea if the simple Component to VGA cable will work. You can find those for
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Here you go...Amazon has a liberal return policy...buy both, return one... http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-CPNT2VGAA-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B0014BL9PO/ref=sr_1_61?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1361151725&sr=1-61&keywords=component+vga+adapter http://www.amazon.com/VGA-RCA-Component-Cable-1-8m/dp/B000FM3EQ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1361151838&sr=1-2&keywords=component+vga+adapter (there are numerous ones to choose from. If this works..great. If not, you need the StarTech)
     
  7. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    That should work.
     

Share This Page