HD-A2, which black level setting?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jim Mcc, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Jim Mcc

    Jim Mcc Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,757
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, WI.
    Real Name:
    Jim
    Are you guys using the on or off setting for black level? Thanks.
     
  2. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    289
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Uhm (I know I should consult my player and manual now, but) if you mean the IRE setting, I think it's off.
    It would only affect the S-Video signal anyway, IMO.


    Cees
     
  3. Jim Mcc

    Jim Mcc Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,757
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, WI.
    Real Name:
    Jim
    When you go thru the setup, I think they refer to it as black level enhancement. Thanks.
     
  4. Allan^L

    Allan^L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the On setting. Everything was super dark and looked barely lit when I had it in the Off setting.
     
  5. Jari K

    Jari K Producer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    250
    I keep everything (I have XE1) "off" and in "0". All the settings should be done from the TV/projector/etc. Proper calibration is the key.
     
  6. JustinCleveland

    JustinCleveland Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Real Name:
    Justin Cleveland
    Ditto.
     
  7. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll third that.
     
  8. Shoaib Lateef

    Shoaib Lateef Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using HDMI, this setting doesn't matter. This only affects analog output.

    You won't see a difference anyway if using HDMI!


    This is only true if you're using a non-HDMI connection (analog).
     
  9. Mike Williams

    Mike Williams Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    1
    Allen, having your setting in the ON position would actually drop the black levels to 0 IRE, which effectively crushes the blacks. It should not be brighter in the On position than in Off. The Off setting sets black levels at 7.5 IRE, which is the proper setting for broadcast. Perhaps it varies with movies, but working in television, settings are to be set at 7.5. I'm not even sure why there is a setting to drop it to 0.
     
  10. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    289
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    The IRE 0 setting is for the Japanese market, I believe.


    Cees
     
  11. Allan^L

    Allan^L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm using a HDMI>DVI cable as I have a CRT HDTV with a DVI connection only. Not sure if that's affecting things. Still, everything looks fine with the black level setting "on."

    ETA: Hmm, I've since set the black level back to "off" and everything looks fine. Go figure!
     

Share This Page