What's new

has anyone professionally reviewed the Sony SA-WM40? (1 Viewer)

steve nn

Senior HTF Member
Well I'm no pro, but what is it that you would like to know Todd? Are you thinking about upgrading a sub that comes with a HTiB or something like that?

Todd Christ

Stunt Coordinator
well - i have the Sony and I'm wondering what the specs would be using the standard db meter references, etc...

i'm upgrading to the Outlaw LFM-1 (as soon as it gets here)

steve nn

Senior HTF Member
From what I have been reading, the LFM-1 is going to be a >Major< upgrade over the Sony, in that you can be confident. I'm still not sure what your asking though? Maybe your looking for a general description of the two and how they will differ?

Congrats on your first real sub. Hope I don't offend any WM-40 users out there:) I used to have one myself:b

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Probably not a whole lot of "pro" reviews for a ~$200 (~$99 street) sub. I've installed one before. Out of the box, it sounded a bit boomy and not so spectacular, but not bad for the price paid for sure. I'm sure the LFM-1 will be a big improvement.

Todd Christ

Stunt Coordinator
well, i agree with you guys - the Sony was awesome at the $128 that i got it for :) it served it's purpose, and i JUMPED on the $399 deal for the LFM-1 (b-stock)

i was curious to see what type of measurements the WM40 can get...

similar to the reviews that Ed does http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=190398

i mean, can the WM40 even hit reference levels?

my buddy just got his B-stock LFM-1, and it scared the crap out of him - so I'm TOTALLY excited to get this sub this week :D

Todd Christ

Stunt Coordinator
well, i finally got my LFM-1 hooked up and ROFL - I put in AOTC during the opening scene - and i "literally" shook a candle off the countertop on the 2nd floor of my house, scared the **** out of my g/f taking a shower

best $399 i ever spent :D

Edward J M

Senior HTF Member