What's new

Harsh Times - quick review (1 Viewer)

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
While I had fun watching Christian Bale and Freddy Rodriguez chew up the scenery in this film with an aimlessly thin plotline, after seeing Bale's name as an exec producer, I have to chalk this film up as a vanity acting project for him because he truly has a blast hamming it up on the screen.

The first 2/3 of the film is unabashedly a testosterone-unleashed slacker buddy-buddy flick, and then it gets much darker and chaotic for the characters.

It's worth a matinee if you like either of the 2 main actors, just go along for the ride and don't ascribe too much common sense to either of them.

I give it 2.5 stars, or a grade of C+.

Elizabeth S

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Elizabeth S
I hadn't heard much about the film at all, so I had very low expectations. I'm a Bale fan, though, and think he usually picks interesting projects.

I liked the film a lot. YES, Bale is way over the top, but as the story settled in, I accepted that he's one of those guys who acts that way -- exaggerated bravura and joviality to hide how messed up he really is. Unhinged Bale is pretty scary. It was a little unbelievable that he and the Freddy Rodriguez character would actually be friends -- even more so that Eva's character would be with an unmotivated guy like Freddy. Still, I got involved with the situation the characters found themselves in.

I did notice what appeared to be several people walking out at 2 separate parts of the film -- I'm guessing it was a little too unpleasantly brutal for them.

Inspector Hammer!

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John Williamson
Just watched this today on Showtime HD and I must say that seldom have I seen a film filled with such unlikable and pathetic characters.