Gateway Plasma or Planar Plasma

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Kaima, May 22, 2003.

  1. Kaima

    Kaima Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering if anyone own either of these two Plasma TVs. They're both under $3k but they're both at 8xx X 480 resolution so I'm thinking it only supports 480p.

    How does DVD movies look on these plasmas? We have a 32" Sony Plasma at work for games and the Xbox running at 720p looks great on it but movies looks terrible.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Bill Lucas

    Bill Lucas Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 1999
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Gateway plasma offers abysmal performance. I wouldn't recommend it to the blind. I haven't seen the other plasma but I can tell you that this technology is still young and you tend to get what you paid for when you buy a low budget plasma.
     
  3. Steve_L_B

    Steve_L_B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are really interested in a plasma, for a little over $3K, you can get the current 42" Panasonic ED (852 x 480) display. Although it is only a monitor (you can use a VCR, TIVO, or cable box for the tuner), it has outstanding picture quality for DVDs and also does a pretty good job with standard cable TV. It is far superior to the Gateway and Planar.

    -Steve
     
  4. BobJ

    BobJ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    I second Steve's recommendation, spend a little more and get the Panasonic.
     
  5. Meaux

    Meaux Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Gateway is made by Sampo w/ a cheaper screen (dark). The Sampo has a better screen (brighter) and is about the same price. All the guts are the same.

    This is what I've read, I don't have either set, and I'm gonna wait till LCD's get larger. I've read life expentancy is about 2 yrs. on the screen. :-(
     

Share This Page