Frustrated with skips in TNG

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jack_F, Sep 25, 2002.

  1. Jack_F

    Jack_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have bought all seasons of Star Trek: TNG that have been released so far, and I'm very dissapointed with Paramount's apparent lack of quality control.

    My season 2 had a skip on one of the discs so I returned it to my retailer and got a new one, which I had to return again because one of the employees at the retailer wrote on the box (this is unrelated to the skips, but I just needed to explain why I returned the second box) so I got season 2 for a third time, and sure enough, the same skip was there that was in the first copy I bought. Since it wasn't too bad, I just decided to keep it.

    My season 3 disc 7 was totally defective. The second episode on the disc wouldn't play at all, the first one played, but about 2/3 of the way through had a ton of digital skips and the episode just stopped. So I went to my retailer with just disc 7, I didn't want to return the whole box because then I wouldn't know if the new box had skips on discs 1-6 unless I rewatched all the episodes, which I didn't want to do. So I exchanged out a new disc 7 from another season 3 box. I just tried it out and sure enough there is a skip on this new disc as well!

    So, I just wanted to vent a little about this and to ask if others have had the same problem with TV box sets, Star Trek or otherwise...

    -Jack
     
  2. Rex Bachmann

    Rex Bachmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Rex Bachmann
    Jack_F wrote:
     
  3. Joshua Moran

    Joshua Moran Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds hardware related to me.
     
  4. JohnAD

    JohnAD Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've gotten all four seasons of TNG so far, and had none of the problems that you had. Having done packaging QA, I would say that overall, the studios and makers have had very few problems. Sure, I've had to return a few disks (including a copy of Lawrence of Arabia that had glue on the second disk), but it's been about 3-4 out of 365 disks. I would have to agree with Joshua, that the problem is probably hardware related.
    John.
     
  5. PatrickM

    PatrickM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jack, I also have all four sets and have watched virtually all the first three seasons and the first couple of discs of the 4th season with no problems whatsoever.

    I am using a cheap Toshiba 2800 and its working great. Haven't tried it much with my RP91 though.

    Patrick
     
  6. Matt Woodyard

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2000
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have all 4 as yet released seasons of TNG and have not found a skip in any episode. I have watched all of the first 3 seasons and some of the fourth. I am using a Toshiba 5109 DVD player. I was generally quite impressed by Paramount's effort on these.
     
  7. Chad A Wright

    Chad A Wright Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the first season of ST:TNG and all five seasons of X-Files and haven't had a problem yet. If possible, try the deffective disc on another DVD player and see if it does the same thing.
     
  8. Randy_M

    Randy_M Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Real Name:
    Randy Margolis
    I have to say there has been nary a problem on my RP91 with either the 4 ST:TNG or the 4 seasons of X Files I have. Sorry you're having trouble, though.
     
  9. Jack_F

    Jack_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm fairly certain that it's not hardware related. I've tried these discs on multiple players and the same problem occurs.

    -Jack
     
  10. David Glenn

    David Glenn Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problems here on all 4 seasons with my Sony DVP-S9000ES.
     
  11. Joseph Bolus

    Joseph Bolus Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 1999
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    143
    I've had no problems thus far viewing any of the ST:TNG sets on my Sony players; and I'm up to Disk 5 of Season Four right now.
     
  12. Joseph J.D

    Joseph J.D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have no problems at all with any of the TNG Season sets on my Sony 7700 so far....I'm about to start disc 6 of Season 4. [​IMG]
     
  13. Jack_F

    Jack_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I guess I just have REALLY bad luck with DVDs.

    -Jack
     
  14. Steven_J_H

    Steven_J_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Steven
    I also have all 4 tng's and all 5 X files and have had zero skips on my Pioneer DVL-919. Most of my problems have been with Disney titles.
     
  15. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is a disc issue, then some of you are just incredibly unlucky. I have all 4 TNG boxed sets and had 0 problems with the first 3 seasons and Im a little way into season 4 and still no problems. I have 341 DVDs total and the only disc I ever had a problem on was Anchor Bay's Space Camp. Even my Contact and Ghostbusters still play fine! [​IMG]
     
  16. Frank Anderson

    Frank Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problems on any of mine either.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Tony Whalen

    Tony Whalen Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got all 4 seasons...no problems here either...
     
  18. RobertCharlotte

    RobertCharlotte Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I ask a question ... are retailers (I'm thinking Best Buy and Circuity City, that kind of store) generally open to the idea of just replacing the disk you know is bad?
    I had to take my Sopranos season one set back for a scratched disk and the store's only other set also had a scratched disk. Mine was disk 2, his was disk 4. So he gave me disk 2 out of his set, and I went home happy.
    This seems ideal to me because (a) the store is going to have one set it has to deal with anyway, (b) by just replacing the known bad disk, you don't have to re-watch all the other disks in the set to make sure that they are not now bad, too.
    Or is all of this just so obvious that no one talks about it? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page