What's new

front L/R (1 Viewer)

Relic1Golf

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jed
I currently have a set of B&W 686 for front L/R. I want to move them to the back and replace them with 6.5" bookshelf speakers for the front stage.

I make about $2-2500/mo so I want to stay within my means but I dont want to be disappointed or wonder If Im missing something in the future. my decision is between B&W 685 and CM5 for front stage and depending on that it will dictate my center channel?
Im a firm believer that a poor man pays twice so I dont want to be the poor man nor do I want to eat roman and frozen burritos for the next 3 months.

Northgun

Second Unit
Real Name
Jacob
Being that I am a poor college student, one of the best things are started doing was home theater savings account (or stash). Before that I only made large home theater purchases with part of my tax return. The savings allows you to save up more and get what you really want so you don't feel the need to upgrade shortly after your purchase. It also helps prevent you from over spending on it because all you have is what ever you put into your home theater savings. That would help prevent the days of roman, which I am right there with you, that sucks. The only down side is you'll have to wait a bit in order to save up the money.

Relic1Golf

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jed
thank you, I could start another savings account sometime next week and transfer funds as needed.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
What's driving the upgrade - space? What are you hoping to improve? Yes, the L&R would determine the center you choose. With a good sub, I don't think the step up from the 686 to the 685 is that big of a jump. Scoring those 683s would be though :)

Relic1Golf

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jed