First DIY sub

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Holadem, Jan 28, 2001.

1. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor

Hi,
    I am curious as to wether I can build a sub for $500 (MAX) that will significantly outperfrom my existing Klipsch KSW-12 (good with HT but slow and overbearing with music. My room is 12 x 15). And also I would like to hear what 25 Hz sounds like [​IMG]
    Would I be better of spending $500 of the HSU VTF-2? Would a $500 DIY sub outperform THAT ONE?
    As you can see, I am new to all this [​IMG]. But I am 4th year EE student so I think I can handle the electronics part. By the way, my price range would have to include an amplifier [​IMG]
    Any ideas?
    TIA
    --
    Holadem

2. Julian Data

Julian Data Second Unit

What amp/power do you plan to use?
    but yes, to your question as DIY subs depending on the config.. will beat majority of commercial subwoofers out there and I am talking in excess of 1G or higher.. Heck, if you do the big boy DIY subs.. start 5G and up
    Julian

3. Paul Ward

Paul Ward Auditioning

Yes, I know that you can build a killer sub for under 500 bucks, because I did it!
    You can build one for even less if you dont use PR's. A sonosub with either a a shiva, tempest, Titan, Stryke should be an improvement over your Klipsch.
    I'm driving my sub with an older Carver TFM-35 bridged to 700 watts that I bought for 300 dollars or you can buy a dedicated amp built just for subs.
    Long story short go for it!!!
    Paul
    My sub construvtion page
    http://www.fastlane.net/~bakersur/tempest.shtml

4. Bill Read

Bill Read Auditioning

To follow in the footsteps of Holadem,
    I understand great performance can be had when building a DIY sonosub, but how will it compare to the fabled SVS?
    In other words, would I be better off to build a tempest driven sonosub or purchase a prefab SVS subwoofer. Overkill does not exist in my world, I would rather have too much than not enough. With that said.