What's new

First Attempt at HT - have questions (1 Viewer)

Shana

Stunt Coordinator
Hello all, I am a novice at this home theater business and am somewhat overwhelmed by all that I have read online (I am a female so already at a technological disadvantage) and I have looked at the Newcomer FAQ on here as well.

I would like to have a decent system for around $750. Right now I have a 27" RCA TV (six years old) with no S-video or other jazzy outputs on the back. It has a good picture nonetheless. I have it hooked up to a VCR and Directv with a basic RCA Dtv receiver, and one big gripe is that the Directv doesn't come in as stereo on my TV. Is it the Directv receiver? When I have it on regular TV, it sounds better.

I am in need of a DVD player, surround sound, receiver. I have looked at the HTiBs and some look decent to me. But then there are all the things I read about that make me wonder how important certain items are.

If you could give me some insight on how important it is to have the following on your HT system, please let me know:

progressive scan (is it useful w/o an HDTV or w/o S-video?)
5.1, DTS, DSP (just what does it take to make it sound like you are in the movie theater?)
S-video, composite video
high speaker wattage (don't have a large living area)

Again, I am happy with my TV but would like to have a DVD and surround sound effects instead of the mono I am hearing now. Do I need to upgrade my Directv receiver?

Some of the HTiB I am looking at because of their high rankings on Cnet.com prices and customer reviews are:

Pioneer HTS-910DV
JVC TH-A9
Sony DAV-C900 and 700
Yamaha YHT-700
JBL Cinema Pro Pack 600
Pioneer HTZ-77DV

Also, what source is the best to use when buying this equipment? I have seen some really good deals on such websites as etronics.com but do you get your full warranty when you buy new equipment through them?