Firefox question

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Eric_L, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using Firefox on my iMac. Whenever I launch it the Firefox window opens and takes up my entire screen. I would like to set the default window size much smaller for Firefox (and beginning location too) but I can't seem to find how to do this. Does anyone here know?

    Also - is there an easier way to switch between applications in Mac? I am constantly moving around my windows looking for the menu bar of other applications 'hiding' below them.... There must be n easier way.
     
  2. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    To resize the window, go the lower right corner and there are a series of diagonal hash marks. Click and drag on that to resize and reposition as needed. The next time Firefox opens it should remember that size and position.
     
  3. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,241
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Eric, you would really benefit from taking some time to learn OS X [​IMG] It took me a month to make the transition -- I was grumbling the whole time -- but once I did, I found I have no desire to turn back. OS X is easier in many ways, but it's still a complex system and requires the user to learn the tools for best performance.

    * Alt-Tab (better than Windows, as its clickable)
    * Expose (don't forget the reveal-desktop variant! Beats the stuffing out of Windows show desktop "tool")
    * Spaces (so-so, but handy at times)
    * The great add-on, Witch

    I believe Firefox launches at whatever size it is when closed. I've not seen the behavior you're describing.
     
  4. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also switch apps by clicking on the apps' icon in the Dock. (Not unlike Windows' task bar, except here you're choosing an app, not a window. To choose among multiple windows for an app, right-click on the icon in the Dock.) Of course, this works better if the Dock is always visible, and not set to auto-hide.
     
  5. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,241
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    What version are you using?

    Do you have any add-ons?

    There are scattered comments about this problem on Windows & OS X, going back to version 1 - and including Beta 3. You may be suffering a spurious Firefox bug.
     
  7. ErichH

    ErichH Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    0

    Instead of clicking the firefox window to remove it, try actually quitting the app then re-launch. I'm guessing, but Firefox does remember the last size after you quit the app.

    From the top Firefox menu (next to the apple icon) Quit Firefox
     
  8. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Here's a video tutorial of the Application Switcher (he's a little rough in the beginning but bear with him). He also says to press Command-Tab-Shift to reverse direction, but Command-Tilde does the same thing and is easier to execute.
     
  9. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,241
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Command-Tab is quite similar to Alt-Tab in windows, but perhaps you've never used Alt-Tab in Windows. Hold Command and press and release the Tab key. It brings up an overlay rectangle with the icons of all running applications, with the "next" program selected. Releasing Command brings that application to the fore. If instead, Tab was tapped again, the selector would move to the right, selecting the next application icon. Successive taps of Tab successively select icons along the overlay, to the right. Alt-Shift-Tab moves the selector "backwards", to the left.

    Also, while holding the icon overlay is visible, the mouse can be used to click and select a program icon.

    Command-Tilde has a related but different behavior. Command-Tab only cycles through open applications. Command-Tilde cycles through open Windows. Since an application can have many windows, some of which might be hidden under other applications, this is a way to get to those in a more fine-grained way that Command-Tab does.

    If Command Tilde is useful, then you should download Witch (that I mentioned earlier), as it improves on this behavior substantially.
     

Share This Page