Firefox Question Pertinent to the new Platform

Discussion in 'Forum Help and Feedback' started by Mike Frezon, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    I'm not very bright about these things...so I am here to ask for help.

    And I figure if I'm having this problem...maybe others are, too.

    Whenever I enter www.hometheaterforum.com into my URL bar, Firefox wants to direct me to Huddler and I get the following error message:
    Even when I "google" Home Theater Forum and click on the link www.hometheaterforum.com in the search results the browser tries to direct me to the huddler site and prompts the error message. It also happens when I click on the HTF icon in the top left-hand corner of every HTF page.

    Is there a setting that have to change? Maybe clear my cache/cookies or something. I hate to do that and have to re-enter all my passwords, etc.
     
  2. Greg_S_H

    Greg_S_H Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    15,388
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    North Texas
    Real Name:
    Greg
    If you do the cookie thing, you can type in hometheaterforum in the search box at the top of your cookie list and just delete those. You'll have to reenter this password, but it will leave the rest alone.

    It sounds like the DNS change hasn't propagated to your ISP. Wait a few days and it may work. If someone knows the numerical address, you can type that for now.
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Make sure Firefox is set to remove all the cookies and clear cache(in your OP system) when you close any browser(even IE or Chrome).

    I've tried the new format on Opera, Chrome, Safari(on a PC), Firefox and IE.

    Opera took me to Huddler as well, but that was before I set the browser to cancel cookies on exit.
     
  4. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Greg: I don't see a search box at the top of the delete cookie dialogue box.
     
  5. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Okay. I found the right dialogue box in "Options."

    I deleted what I thought were all the cookies connected with www.hometheaterforum.com...but it hasn't changed anything.

    I did, however, have to sign back in to the HTF.
     
  6. moviepas

    moviepas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    19
    I initially last night could not sign in(Firefox) and got a new password when I switched to Google Chrome and the same happened. Then I was in. Today my usual default, Firefox, opened it no worries and I am logged in always on both. At least for now.

    I do miss that block at the end of the pages for running threads. I guess I will get used to the panel down the right-hand side.
     
  7. BobO'Link

    BobO'Link Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,355
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    Mid-South
    Real Name:
    Howie
    Do you get the same issue with IE? If so, I'd say your ISP hasn't had the DNS records propagate yet.

    Another possibility is someone/something has changed your hosts file to include a pointer for hometheaterforum (very handy to have for often used sites if DNS stops working but can cause issues with site changes). If you are running a Windows OS you'll find the hosts file at:

    WINDOWSsystem32driversetc

    Use a text editor (notepad) to open the hosts file and see if there's a line that looks something like (I put zeros in the IP as I don't know the huddler address. If the line exists it'll have the old IP for hometheaterforum):

    0.0.0.0 hometheaterforum.com

    If that line is there remove it and save the hosts file. If you are running Windows 7 you'll need to copy the file to the desktop to edit and save it. If Notepad added a .txt extension to the file, remove it and drop the edited file back in the original folder. You may have to change the ability to see known file extentions to remove a added .txt extension.

    Then close and reopen your browser. A reboot shouldn't be necessary. The issue should be resolved.
     
  8. BobO'Link

    BobO'Link Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,355
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    Mid-South
    Real Name:
    Howie
    Be careful setting your browser to remove *all* cookies on exit. Doing so will cause you to have to re-enter usernames and passwords on sites that would normally "remember" you as cookies are used for this functionality. This can also cause shopping sites to lose the contents of your cart or you may lose custom site settings (Amazon and Google are big offenders in the "using cookies for site preferences" camp although your Amazon cart is login based). If this is the behavior you want that's OK but many people do not like this happening.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I forgot the fact I have an alternate program that saves pertinent information for me. Sort of a "password keeper". You have to know I have it running but since I'm on Audiogon/Ebay/Craigslist/USPS/UPS and several forums 3-5 hours a day, it was handy to use the outside program. I log out of that password program when I'm not using a computer...then if on another one, I enter that password website and log back in(works on any computer).I use a phone, two different Ipads, 3 laptops and two different PCs. So my need to keep passwords safe overrules cookies(for me).
     
  10. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Mike:

    With moving the forum from one service provider to another over the years Greg's explanation is usually what the cause is.
    I am able to get to the new site in all my browsers with no problem. It may take you a couple of days to get the DNS change to your ISP.
    Packy
     
  11. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,745
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Michigan
    I agree with Parker... it is probably an ISP issue. I can get into the forum with both Chrome and Firefox.
     
  12. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    15,680
    Likes Received:
    675
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam
  13. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    I'm afraid it is. I haven't yet done everything that's been suggested to me, however.

    About the only thing I did was go into my Options/Cookies/dialogue box and delete everything connected to Hometheaterforum.com. But that didn't work.

    This is what I see everytime I click on the HTF icon in the upper left hand corner of any HTF page while using my browser of choice--Firefox:

    View attachment 208
     
  14. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    I figure Parker and Greg may be right about my ISP dragging its feet?
     
  15. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    I don't know what this means, but I just got to the HTF as I should via Chrome.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    When you were asking about "why can't I get it" and seeing what you posted...

    I was having fits that day as well. Last night and this morning are the first times I've gotten to the forum with no-fuss. Using any browser.

    Depending on what I'm watching/looking for, I'll even break out Opera(which is great for Tumblr/Pinterest)
     
  17. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Mike:

    Sounds like a Firefox issue to me. As you can get here fine with Chrome.

    In addition to hometheaterforum in your cookies file look for anything associated with huddler too.

    It may not be your cookies but your browsers cache. Have you tried clearing the cache in Firefox?

    Something is still loaded in your Firefox browser that is redirecting it to the huddler site.

    Packy
     
  18. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Parker:

    I'll definitely look into that when I get a chance later at home tonight.

    Nice to see one of the classic avatar images back!
     
  19. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    It's nice to see familiar ones too.
     
  20. BobO'Link

    BobO'Link Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,355
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    Mid-South
    Real Name:
    Howie
    Ditto. As Chrome works don't bother with finding and checking the hosts file as I'd suggested earlier. If it were your issue you'd see the problem across all browsers. You can do a "quickie" cache refresh/update on a single page by holding down the shift key while clicking on the reload icon/button but I don't know if this will do the trick on this occasion.
     

Share This Page