What's new

Finally got some new speakers for the plasma, but need to know if a receiver is needed. (1 Viewer)

Sammael7

Auditioning
Real Name
Ty Holland
I am pretty new to the home audio game, but I got tired of the lackluster audio coming out of my samsung plasma and decided to order these:
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-SP-BS41-LR-Watt-2-Way-Speakers/dp/B0045US6DE/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
my tv audio out looks like this
b702b9b9_tvports.jpeg

So, I am guessing just getting some speaker wire and hooking up the speakers to the tv is not going to cut it?
Do I need a receiver and if so, what would be best for those two speakers? I don't intend to build some surround sound system, I just want enough power to drive those two bookshelf speakers to their reasonable potential. And the less money needed on such a device the better (i.e. a 300 dollar receiver for some 130ish speakers is not going to be ok)

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Hi Ty!
Welcome to HTF!

Glad you uploaded a picture.

I'm going to give you my initial response but ask others to
chime in to back me up....

Those look like all INPUTS. One row is for input A, the other
for input B.

Your audio feed is the optical digital output which would be
connected to a receiver.

Let me try to get you a second opinion on this, because
most people here would not be hooking up speakers the way
you are looking to do (though I understand your situation)

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
Ron you are correct those all are inputs except for the Digital Optical out in the bottom left corner.
Ty there is no way to connect speaker wire directly to this TV. So you are correct you will need something to go between your TV and the speakers. What you need is a little more involved than just giving a blind suggestion. So if you can answer a few questions we can get you on the right track.