Film Noir Classic Collection Vol. 3 in slim cases?

Discussion in 'DVD' started by JimKr, Jul 19, 2006.

1. JimKr

JimKr Stunt Coordinator

Just received my copy from our favorite online retailer and to my surprise the discs are in very slim cases unlike volumes 1 & 2. I certainly wish the previous 2 sets were in the same type cases. That or this set was in the same cases the first 2 were. Not a big deal but it struck me as odd that Warner would change course like that.

2. Ric Easton

Ric Easton Cinematographer

I say good deal! Now I don't have to do it myself!

3. TravisR

TravisR Studio Mogul

I have no inside knowledge but I'd bet that it's to save on the limited shelf space of retailers.

4. Steve Phillips

Steve Phillips Screenwriter

Warner announced a few months ago that they were phasing in the slim line cases on their sets. I'm quite glad. The spines aren't as nice, but the space that is saved makes it well worth it.

5. John Hodson

John Hodson Producer

John
    ..well it sure saves space here too. Bring 'em on Warners, my groaning shelves love you.

6. Garysb

Garysb Screenwriter

I would think it would depend on if the films are to be released individually or not as the determining factor of slim case or not. The Clark Gable Signature set and Bette Davis Vol 2 recently released were not slim case and most of the films were also available individually. An exception to this was the Lucy/Desi set
    which was slim case and 2 of the films were released separately in the slim case. Lucy/Desi ( Long, Long Trailer and Forever, Darling) are the only slim cases I am aware that were released without the box. Maybe its a test.

7. Rod J

Rod J Stunt Coordinator
    Supporter

Rodney Jewett
    It would be nice to have the collection in consistent packaging. Will they offer slim cases for existing owners of collections 1 & 2.
    Also, does anyone know if they're going to pull this on the Astaire & Rogers second collection.

8. Lars Vermundsberget