What's new

External Amp for DIY Tempest (1 Viewer)

Theon

Agent
I am toying with the idea of powering a DIY Tempest with an external amp. Can I use any stereo amp to power the sub, or will I need an amp with certain inputs?

The crossover of my Yamaha receiver is set at 90Hz and is unadjustable.

Thanks.

TimForman

Supporting Actor
I've been using an external pro amp for a couple of years and it's fine. There's plenty to choose from like QSC, Pyle Pro, Crown, etc.. A older stereo amp will work fine. Some of the old Realistic receivers had hefty power supplies and work nice if you can scrounge one up at a thrift store.

Theon

Agent
Thanks for the responses guys. Here is what I think would work: Sub out on my primary receiver to any input (CD, Cassette) jack on my external sub amp. Then I use speaker cables between my external amp and the subwoofer. Sound good?

One thing I'm unsure of: since the Sub out on my receiver is giving out a mono signal, how would that affect how I hook up my sub? As I understand it, the Tempest is a dual-coil woofer and I would benefit from having an external amp powering it through two channels (more power).

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
This just came up in another thread. Yes, you can split the sub out line and plug them into the R and L RCA inputs of the receiver, say CD, Aux, anything but phono if it has one. Then use both the R and L speaker wire posts- one pair to each voice coil. Do not reverse the polarity. That way you will use both channels of your stereo amp and get the most out of it.

Theon

Agent
Thanks Brian.

One more question (for now): should I just drill/cut a hole one in of the walls of the sub big enough for the speaker wire to pass through? I'm building a sealed sub so I'm unsure to as how this will affect it's performance.

Bhavesh

Stunt Coordinator
Theon,