What's new

Electrical Question (1 Viewer)

SethH

Senior HTF Member
I'm a college student and I move around to different aparments every year due to roommate changes and such. We just picked up the keys to a new place for this coming year. It's a house built in the early 70's that's in great condition considering the age. Well, the problem is that every outlet in the house is a 2-prong outlet. Everything I own is 3-prong: my computer, monitor, printer, TV, power conditioner, surge protectors, etc. The "obvious" solution is to buy cheater plugs, thus by-passing the ground on all my stuff. Is there anything else I can do and how will this affect my stuff? Thanks.

Scott Van Dyke

Supporting Actor
1. "Cheater" plugs can still be grounded using the screw from the middle of the outlet faceplate and screwing it through the metal tab in the plug.

2. You can ground the important outlets right to the outlet housing. I give this a "3" out of "10" in difficulty of electical stuff for the do-it-yourselfer.

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Thanks for the info. I've never had to use cheater plugs so I was unaware of the metal tab. I'll probably just go that route. Thanks.

Dennis Nicholls

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dennis

This really doesn't work in most situations. Many homes are wired with 2-wire Romex, so the box isn't grounded. This would only be true if metallic conduit was used. And many boxes are just plastic. And many homes built in the early 1970's were wired with aluminum wire, so any grounds in those cases are suspect anyway.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Not to mention, the metal boxes (if they did use them) are nailed to wood studs. That’s not a good ground by any stretch of the imagination. The only way screwing the adapter to the center screw will give a ground is if the house used conduit throughout. And even then, it would have to be connected to a ground stake or water pipe at some point.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Ted Lee