What's new

DVDrom or DVD player? (1 Viewer)

Scott_D

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,
I'm a total newbie to DVD's, so much so that I don't even have a dvd player yet. But I am thinking about it.
My brother said I should get a DVDrom for my computer and just hook it up to my tv. However, I talked to a retail store guy who said there would be a lot of quality loss and that I should get a standard DVD player.
My brother is very knowledgeable in regards to computers but not DVD's.
Another thing to consider is that a rather long cable would need to connect the computer to the tv, say a few metres os so.
So does anyone know what the best option would be?
And if your answer is "DVD player" what are the best brands going around at the moment?
THanks

ThucN

Agent
A few comments about getting the DVD-rom:[*]Your computer's video card will need a TV output (obvious, but worth mentioning just in case).[*]You'll still need to (ideally) buy a software DVD player.[*]You'll have to boot up your comp every time you want to watch a movie.[*]A cable length of a few metres should be OK.[*]Setting up your video card and its drivers, sound card and its drivers, the software DVD player, together with the operating system, can either be painless or stress-inducing.[*]As far as quality - I've heard that a lot of high-end setups use the HTPC route because of the flexibility in using the computer to adjust the size/resolution/etc. of the video output.

I would choose a standalone player over a computer DVD-rom, but since my new computer needed a CD/DVD-rom device anyway, I chose the DVD-rom.

------------------
TqN

Mark Rejhon

Auditioning
>>"obvious, but worth mentioning just in case"
Not necessarily - if using a BIG SCREEN Computer Compatible Display .... Such as many HDTV's, plasma displays, projectors, etc. You simply use VGA output as the progressive scan output. Therefore you would not need a TV-Out in this case.