DVD rom freeze up

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by brentl, Aug 13, 2001.

  1. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok Guys
    I've got an Msi K7T-pro2a with the newest bios, 256 meg of Hyundai ram, a maxtor 15 gig 5400 HHD, and an ATI rage Fury Pro video card.
    EVERY time I try to play I get to the Logo, then the menu, once I click the system freezes.
    To explain this more easily let's use the Matrix as an example. When I go to play "are You the one"game I can get all the stuff to play until I get to then video clips then it freezes and I need to do a hard boot...CTRL-ALT-DEl does nothing.
    Agp is set at 4times, aperture is 64, and the virtual memory is set at 1000 megs.
    I can load anything from the DVD rom but I can't play DVDs.
    Brent L
    The DVrom is a no name Afreey unit. My ATI card has hardware decoding.
    Help me please, any ideas would b e great.
     
  2. SteveBjr

    SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    What software are you using for your DVD ROM to play the
    movies? I'd try a different one just for the heck of it and see if that works.
    ------------------
    Steve,
    DVD Collection
     
  3. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tried Win-DVD, the ATI HARDWARE dvd player, and the PC friendly interface.
    Any more ideas?? I'm thinking it's the Vid card.
    Brent L
     
  4. SteveBjr

    SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you have DMA unchecked in Device manager.
    I had a similar problem with mine, except i could play DVDs but they were very choppy when they played. I'd take a look at your bios and check the settings as well.
    ------------------
    Steve,
    DVD Collection
     
  5. del jones

    del jones Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2000
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    try using dvd station software & a hollywood magic decoder card. It solved my freeze ups with power dvd
     
  6. tyler O

    tyler O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Horrible to say, but try removing PCFriendly and your DVD software, then reinstalling only the software. You lose the PCFriendly capabilities, but I have run into so many compatibility issues on both of my systems that I had to take it off completely. It would lock every movie I tried after a minute or two. I have had no problems after removing it though. Best of luck.
    ------------------
    Share and Enjoy - The marketing division of the Sirius Cybernetics Corporation.
     
  7. John Thomas

    John Thomas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tyler has a good point about PCFriendly. It's anything but.
    Also, try removing/reinstalling the multimedia sections. Check your video and sound drivers, a reinstall of those wouldn't hurt either in case they've become corrupted somehow.
     
  8. SteveBjr

    SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree i get many errors using PC Friendly, so i uninstalled it.
    ------------------
    Steve,
    DVD Collection
     

Share This Page