Dual subwoofers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Andrew Pezzo, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. Andrew Pezzo

    Andrew Pezzo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen in a few magazines when reviewing speakers that they sometimes hook up 2 subs. My questions is how do they do that? When I bought my sub (Energy S8.2) I was living in a small place. I have the opportunity to get another S8.2 for under $100 and since I live in a bigger place I want to get it. I have a Denon AVR 3803 with Energy Connoisseur speakers (C-7's for front, C-1 for rears, and C-C3 is on the way). I appreciate any help I can get on this.
     
  2. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    An RCA "y" adapter from the sub out, or at the sub end of the sub cable - do the Y there if they are to be stacked to save cable expense.
     
  3. Andrew Pezzo

    Andrew Pezzo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing I could think of was splitting the sub output on the receiver but that seemed to easy to me, guess I was on to something. That being said I also thought having one sub connected through a low level connection and the other a high level connection was a way to do it but that seemed wrong also.

    That makes me wonder about the quality of the signal being sent, I would think splitting it would cause a bit of signal loss.
     
  4. Bob Kavanaugh

    Bob Kavanaugh Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I split my subwoofer out with no noticable signal loss. I just went to radio-shack and picked up a gold series splitter for 5.99. (This will not be a problem when my STR-DA2ES arrives... I CAN'T WAIT!)
     
  5. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending on the sub, many have line level outputs as well as inputs, so you could just "daisy chain" the two subs. IE, receiver to sub 1, sub 1 to sub 2.

    Hope this helps [​IMG]
     
  6. Edward J M

    Edward J M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are better off Y splitting at the sub out. There is no signal loss - the voltage is identical at both leads. There can be (but not always) a signal degradation associated with daisy chaining.

    Regards,

    Ed
     
  7. RichardH

    RichardH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
    There should be plenty of juice from the receiver's sub out to compensate for the small voltage drop in splitting the signal. Since they are identical subs, try to set their volume knobs the same. That way, you're getting equal output from the pair and not working one more than the other. This will ensure you're getting the most output possible from the two.
     
  8. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,041
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Andrew,

     
  9. John H

    John H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 1998
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Aaron Garman

    Aaron Garman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've actually come across some luck and now have a JBL PB10 in addtion to my PB12. I'm using both with a monster cable sub cable that has a Y splitter with it. The question is, am I better off turning their volumes all the way and setting the volume from my Yammie HTR-5280 or should I set the Yammie to full for the sub and adjust volume at the sub? Thanks!

    AJG
     
  11. Frank Carter

    Frank Carter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0

    I would set the Yamaha to it's mid level and then adjust from the subwoofer.
     

Share This Page