dts problem

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by MattAnder, May 27, 2004.

  1. MattAnder

    MattAnder Extra

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone. I'm new here and I'm sure DTS questions have been asked to death, but please bear with me. I tried to do a search, but wasn't successful. Anyway, I recently bought the 60th anniversay edition of Saving Private Ryan specifically for the the DTS sound. However, when I put in the disk and selected the DTS option I didn't get any sound. I thought maybe it was a bad disk and brought it back to Best Buy--they tested it and found nothing wrong with it. They told me to mess with my settings and make sure DTS was enabled. I was almost positive it was, but I messed with my settings anyway and still it didn't work. The bigger problem is that now I can't get DTS to work on any of my dvds even though it says dts on the player so I know it's at least trying to decode it. I don't know if it's because I screwed something up with the settings or what. Here's what I have for equipment:

    Sony DVP NC600 dvd player
    Marantz SR8200 receiver

    Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what's found in PRIMER/FAQ (see lefthand top in BASICS FORUM)

    John Garcia
    Santa Clara, Ca.
    Member

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Local Date and Time:
    May 27th, 2004
    03:51 PM
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Member Since:
    June 24th, 1999

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    First time Using DTS on my system and there is no sound when selecting DTS on a DVD. Dolby Digital and music are working though, why?

    All three of these things MUST be present and configured for DTS playback:

    1) Your receiver must be set to "Auto detect" or forced to DTS decoding.

    2) In your DVD player's digital audio setup menu, you must ENABLE DTS. Dolby digital is on by default, and on 99.9% of players, DTS is NOT turned on from the factory.

    3) Select the DTS track in the disc's setup menu.


    The no.2 step is the most frequently overlooked.
     
  3. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    On some players you set dts to "bitstream"
     
  4. MattAnder

    MattAnder Extra

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bill, thanks for the response, but those issues have already been cleared up. The Best Buy dude (like he would actually know) suggested I do #2. Even though I was 99% sure dts was enabled on my player I messed around with my settings anyway, which didn't help at all for Saving Private Ryan. It was only after I messed with the settings that none of my dts disks work, but again I'm almost positive I put my settings back to where they were when dts worked. Any other ideas?

    Neil, I'm not familiar with "bitstream" and have never seen that on my player or receiver.
     
  5. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Page 68 of the Manual if you aren't sure what the settings were when dts worked before:

    You must set Digital Out: to ON
    Dolby Digital: to DOLBY DIGITAL
    DTS: to ON

    If this is set up correctly then check Bill's post #1 above:
    1) Your receiver must be set to "Auto detect" or forced to DTS decoding.

    Can't think of anything else unless there is a problem with the dts track on your disc.
     
  6. Tod Golden

    Tod Golden Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try playing the disc with the DD track. If that doesn't work then I would think there is a connection problem or possibly a bad cable. Just a thought.

    Tod
     
  7. MattAnder

    MattAnder Extra

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made sure those settings were correct and still none of my disks work with dts. This is really ticking me off because I know for a fact that I used to get dts before. I don't understand what's different. Does anybody know how to make my receiver "auto detect"? I don't remember ever seeing that option when I set up my receiver. I don't know if it makes a difference, but dts isn't shown on the receiver anywhere while the disk is being played, I mean the logo is there, so it supports dts, but dts doesn't show up anywhere like it's trying to decode it like it does on the player.
     
  8. Mike_J_D

    Mike_J_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you could play DTS movies on your DVD player before SPR. Or is this the first time you have tried? If you have been able to play DTS movies before SPR, and SPR doesn't work. Take it back to BB )again) and tell them that it won't play in your player. And that you have other DTS movies that do play on your player.

    If this is your first attempt at playing a DTS DVD in your player then I would suggest doing step 2 again, without a DVD in the player. Turn DTS to on, and then how it is sent to "butstream" (sorry can't recall the actual correct terminology[​IMG] ). Then turn off the DVD player. Turn it back on and try SPR again. I will assume that the SR8200 is a DTS capable reciever. Since I am not familiar with Marantz products. I do see the 8400 on the Marantz website, and it is DTS capable, and my guess is the 8200 is a little older then it. So I'm guessing it is. If nothing works take it back. Make BB give you another DVD.

    Good luck.
     
  9. Mike_J_D

    Mike_J_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I see that you think you have. Have you actually gone into the menu on a DVD movie setup and choosen DTS. It usually askes you twice. If not then you have never watched a movie in DTS. The default is DD. I'm sure that you know this, but one can't be too sure[​IMG] [​IMG]

    My Denon has the Auto detect button on the face of the reciever and on the remote. I am trying to find where it would be on yours. But the remotes on the Marantz website...well since they are Universals you can't see the buttons. LOL Wish I could help more. Go through your OSD and look for a button on you remote/face of your reciever.

    Does your Marantz have OSD????

    That might help
     
  10. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    Is this some type of slang for dysentery?[​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  11. Sean Conklin

    Sean Conklin Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the dts chip is bad.
     
  12. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    For auto detect on your receiver, check
    Setup Main
    /Input Setup
    whatever Digital Input your DVD player is set to should have 'AT' set (for auto-detect).
    eg if your DVD is plugged into Digital Input 2

    1 Input Setup
    DVD D2-AT

    this is from the SR7400 Manual, I can't find one for the 8200 but generally the setups are similar.

    If you also have Multichannel audio connections from your DVD player to Receiver, make sure you haven't selected the Multichannel Input when you want to have the receiver decode the dts track.
     
  13. Lev-S

    Lev-S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    out of curiosity, are you trying to select DTS on the receiver or on the DVD menu?
     
  14. MattAnder

    MattAnder Extra

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone. Sorry I haven't been responding to my own post, but I've been outta town. I'll look at your responses tomorrow and see if any of them work. Thanks again.
     
  15. Peter_W

    Peter_W Agent

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the same thing too. I had to go into the setup section of the DVD, let the into pass (passes without sound), and when the movie actually starts, the processing and sound starts. My 2 cents.
     
  16. MattAnder

    MattAnder Extra

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok guys. Sorry about the length, but here's an update on my problem. Thanks again for all your responses so far. I appreciate you trying to help me. I just got done testing Saving Private Ryan on my parents system and DTS worked just fine. I also tested American Beauty which for whatever reason the DTS didn't work on my system before. I don't know why I didn't take it back--I just figured it was too much hassle and the movie didn't need to have great sound for me to enjoy it, but that one worked too. Now I'm getting some new thoughts in my head. I'm no audiophile by any means, but I do consider myself at least somewhat versed in home theater basics, but is it possible that I've never even watched a movie in DTS before? Is it possible that I've been thinking I've been listening to DTS but really haven't? I doubt it because I know I've heard sound during the DTS intro (the piano deal) before. As I was typing this message I threw in Die Hard (on the other system) and DTS worked on that even though it didn't work on my system before either. It's very strange--on my system some DTS movies worked and some didn't, but now none of them work and on my parents system they all seem to work. I don't get it. Anyway, I tried the suggestions you guys gave and none of them worked. One thing I noticed on my parents receiver (Pioneer) the letters dts showed up on the display as the movie was playing. On my Marantz it doesn't do that. I never noticed anything showing up before, but do you think it should? Dts shows up on my player though.

    Here's what my player settings are right now:
    Audio ATT ON
    Audio DRC Standard
    DownMix Dolby Surround
    Digital Out ON
    Dolby Digital Dolby Digital
    DTS ON

    Do those look right?

    Auto detect is enabled on my receiver--I checked
    It's set to THX Cinema--I was told to always leave it on that setting while watching movies.

    The receiver also has the words pro logic, analog and att displayed on it.

    I can't think of anything else to include. I'm just trying to give you guys as much information as I can. Thanks.

    P.S. Is it possible that my dvd player just conked out? I've been meaning to upgrade, so maybe this will be a good excuse.
     
  17. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0


    To me this says that your receiver is not reading the dts signal from the DVD player (auto detecting it), or the DVD player is outputting only analog.

    Go back into your receivers settings, and rather than setting it to 'Auto' try and see if you can force it to Digital by switching the AT to Dig, or whatever method is in your manual.

    Now this may be a really stupid question, but you are using a digital connection from the DVD player to the receiver, and not the red/white analog ones, correct?

    If none of the above works, either try a different DVD player on your receiver, or try your DVD player on a different receiver.
     
  18. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    90% of the time, when the receiver only says Pro-Logic and/or analog and the DTS does not work, this is the case. The poster should make sure he has a digital coax or optical connection from the DVD to the receiver, not just the analog R/W cables. If his DVD settings are what he listed, I suspect he does not have a digital connection.
     
  19. ifor

    ifor Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    if the reciever says analog then it is for sure the digital cable is not hooked up .
     
  20. Mike_J_D

    Mike_J_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0


    OOPS my bad :b [​IMG]
     

Share This Page