What's new

Don't explode... but... (1 Viewer)

jacampb

Auditioning
Real Name
Joshua

Don't explode everyone... but...
I found some BOSE (yeah, I said it) 201 series IIIs for 40 bucks for the pair in good condition. I know audio folks hate Bose because they're overpriced for what they are, but is this pretty low price alright? What I have right now is two optimus 200W 3-way speakers (don't know any more about them) plugged into my denon avr-590 along with a 120W RCA sub. I'm trying to get some decent 4.1 sound for budget price. I thought about maybe moving these large floor standing optimus speakers around towards the back so I can get some bass in the back and leave the front-most bass for the sub. Cosmetically this would also work nicely, since those floor standing speakers aren't fitting all that well with what I got goin' on up near the screen, and the 201s are small enough to sort of be hidden away. I'm an utter newbie to audio and home theater - don't know if it's a good idea to have large rear speakers, don't know if 201s are alright for 40 bucks (though it seems surely they are!, is there better out there for 40? suggestions please). I also will be finally setting my sl 1300 up with this system and didn't really know how these speakers would improve or harm the whole sound experience. Need to know by tomorrow morning so make haste with suggestions! Thanks
Josh

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
You want your best speakers in the front. Plus there is very little bass in the surround sound signal so the big speakers would be wasted there.

We don't hate Bose as a company, just their marketing dept. Don't over-hype the little speakers and sell them at a decent price. Older Bose products are good.

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill