What's new

Does this sound like a good/safe buy? (Used TV) (1 Viewer)

KyleST

Auditioning
Hey-
I was hoping you guys could help me out here- I'm trying to decide if this is a good buy or not.
I have a chance to buy a 43" Hitachi TV (43UWX10B) wide screen TV. The seller says its 2 years old and in perfect condition, and is asking $500 for the TV and the stand.
It sounds like a good deal to me, but I'm worried about what I've heard with the reports of hitachis breaking down after a couple years of use.
I'm a poor college student so $500 is just about the top of my budget, and I would love to get a TV of this quality without spending $1000+.
So what do you guys think the chances of the TV dying on me soon after I buy it are? I would go and see the TV in use before buying it, but I'm just worried about having a $700 repair bill after a couple months of use.
Are there any decent new TV's in that price range that are widescreen/HDTV capable?
Thanks for any advice.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
Kyle, there's no way to know how long that TV will last, or any other TV. There are no other NEW TV's near $500, widescreen and HD ready. They seem to start about $750 for a 30" TV.
Why not buy a smaller 4:3 TV, 32" or 36" and upgrade when you're out of college? With DVD, satellite or OTA antenna, you'll get a great picture on a set like that. Consumer Reports rated sets this size in the DEC. issue.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
Kyle: I would go see the set in person, and test it out. If it is in good condition, there's no reason to believe that it would up and die on you i don't think. TVs can last a long long time. Some won't, but even if you buy a new set, it could die on you just the same.

Jimi C

Screenwriter
It sounds like a great price to me.. personally i wouldn't hesitate to buy it if i was looking for a tv.

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer