What's new

Do regular DVDs look better on a Blu-Ray player??? (1 Viewer)

SergioM

Auditioning
Real Name
Sergio Mims
O.K. for once and for all do regular DVDs look better on a Blu-ray player? I've gotten mixed messages. I've been told that they do, but also that that's not always the case. In some instances they look worse. So what's the definite answer?

mike caronia

Second Unit
Depends on your equipment.
A bargain basement Blu-ray player on a 40" 720p television...isn't going to be a big difference.

I notice a difference on my set-up.
Both my old Toshiba HD-DVD and PS3 on a 55" set...the upconvert of regular old DVDs looks great.
To my eyes, the HD-DVD does a better job upconverting as well.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Hi Sergio! Welcome to the HTF!

I'm no hardware expert. I'm sure some will be along soon.

But, I've only heard about Blu-ray players upconverting DVDs and making them look better on HD displays. While I haven't heard the opposite (that BD players can make DVDs look worse).

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
It depends on the video presentation of the SD DVD. If the SD DVD has a fine video presentation then most likely it would look pretty good being upconverted by a Blu-ray player onto a HD monitor.

Crawdaddy

Brian McHale

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Brian McHale
The simple fact of the matter is that any SD material will be upconverted to HD somewhere along the line if you view it on an HDTV. If you use a regular DVD player, the TV will do the upconversion. If you run your DVD player into an A/V receiver, the receiver might do the upconversion. If you use a BD player, the player will do the upconversion.

So, which will do the best job of upconverting? That depends upon the hardware involved (and the quality of the DVD). So, the basic answer is "maybe, maybe not". However, if you want the answer to be "yes", do some research and get a BD player known for good upconversion (like the Oppo).