What's new

do I need decorder in DVD? (1 Viewer)

So I am trying to decide on a new DVD player for the HT.

How badly do I need a decoder in the DVD player- Can't that function be done by the receiver?

I was looking at the Denon DVD1600 vs 2800 vs Sony NS755, NS900 or S9000ES. There seems to be a big difference in price for what you get. For instance the Sony ns755V is least expensive, yet appears to have similar specs and as much capability.

Part of the difference in the machines is DVDa vs SACD. Which has greater availability and which is better? Also, the oripinal Question applies- the top of the line Sony (most expensive) lacks the decoder and is 2 channel vs multichannel SACD. I am confused. (NOTHING NEW) Please help! Thanks

Peter

Adam Bluhm

Supporting Actor
I'm relatively new at all this HT jargain, but I'm confused as to what you mean by 'decoder.' I don't think HT is anything like a DVD-Rom. You don't need a seperate decoder. You can connect your dvd player directly to your tv or through your receiver.. however you want to.

The audio signals need to be decoded for true 5.1

Some DVD players have built in decoders, some don't. I believe the signal passes (If hooked up digitally) to the receiver and as long as the receiver can decode the signal you are alright. So, my question is: Is a DVD player with a built in decoder necessary? Also, the next step would be about SACD or DVDa. Does the decoder also decode signals for those (if provided in the DVD) or can these also pass to the receiver via the digital output and be decoded there. I thought I read somewhere that for DVDa you need the separate analog outputs for each channel. Does this apply to SACD as well?

Peter

Gary Thomas

Second Unit
Hi Peter. Yes...this stuff does get confusing!