Do Direct TV and Dish Network point same spot?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by florence franks, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. florence franks

    florence franks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 1999
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Getting tired of mini pauses once a hour with my dish network and thinking of taking advantage of free direct tv install. But I dont have much room to work with, does Direct tv point in same direction, SE?

    thanks
     
  2. Trevor_J

    Trevor_J Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use one dish for both networks if you point your dish at DirecTV's satellite and then tie an LNB (using zip ties) to the left side of the DirecTV LNB. I'm pretty sure it's the left side but I'll have to check for you when it's light outside.
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    If you have a Dish500 dish, you are pointed at satellite locations 110 and 119. DirecTV core programming is at location 101, just to the left of where you are pointing. If you decide to switch, I recommend getting a Phase III dish with your DirecTV system. It points at 101, 110 and 119. You will get a few extra channels now but if you decide to upgrade to HD, you will already have the required dish. I also recommend spending a few dollars and getting the DirecTivo. It's the best piece of equipment that I have ever purchased.

    -Robert
     
  4. florence franks

    florence franks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 1999
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using very first HD capable reciever came out for dish. its oldy. I think its HD6000? I put up with these mini breaks/pauses for over year as I've repeated be told same useless information, line of sight, cables, etc. And last 4 months it just getting more frequent. There is shed to left of my setup outside my apartment being reason why I asked as I cant point much more to left.
    thanks for info.
     
  5. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Actually the first HD Dish receiver was the model 5000. I had the 6000 before I switched back to DirecTV. I never had any problems like you describe.

    -Robert
     
  6. Jim-L

    Jim-L Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the new 811 and am very happy.
     

Share This Page