What's new

DIY Interconnect help (1 Viewer)

Tom Fl

Grip
I am new to home theater DIY but I am planning on building some interconnects (mainly audio for cd-players, DVD-A, etc.). I will use Jon Risch's basic design with Belden 89259. Additionally, I want to use Canere RCAP-C4A connectors because I like their crimp design. First, what are your opinion's on Risch's design using 89259, should I consider any of his twisted pair designs. I chose the single 89259 design due to its simplicity of construction. Also, does anyone have any experience with this combination of cable and terminations, according to Canere, the C4A will work with Belden RG59. Lastly, I have never used heat shrink or techflex before but I want to "dress" my cables up. What size is appropriate?

Thanks in advance for your help.

TimForman

Supporting Actor
The Canare connectors are great and easy to work with, but I chose the Gepco VSD 2001 over Belden due to it's better performance specs.

MarcS

Stunt Coordinator
Depending on the quantity and length of cables you plan on making (and don't you need a special crimp tool for Canare connectors?), you might consider buying them instead.

I recently bought some stuff from Blue Jeans Cable, and others have mentioned Rhino I believe. Blue Jeans seemed to have a decent price, they shipped the same day, and I had my cable a couple of days later--excellent service...

From memory (check their sites to make sure), I believe they basically use the Jon Risch recommended Belden cables and construction methods...

Just a thought...

Tom Fl

Grip