Disney takes away one of Blu-rays best features

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Peter Neski, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. Peter Neski

    Peter Neski Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    31
    Seems pretty clear to me Disney is making freeze framing imposible on some of its titles,I just

    noticed that evertime you pause the New Alice in Wonderland ,not only do you get disneys stupid timeline,

    You get a picture of the start of the chapter ,and no way of clearly seeing a freeze frame


    They did this on Snow White without the chapter picture,but still they are making people keep their dvds!!!


    This is a Joke!!!
     
  2. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,700
    Likes Received:
    1,823
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Lame =(
     
  3. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,026
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    This isn't znything new. I've seen this "feature" on blu Ray, probably Disney since the beginning.
     
  5. CraigF

    CraigF Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Toronto area, Canada
    Real Name:
    Craig
    Yeah, I've seen some "timelines" and other associated crap fill so much of the display that pausing to take in the beauty of a scene is pointless. Haven't seen it much lately though, on what I've been watching. I think Pixars had a lot of it (i.e. Disney). I do like it the way Universal's timelines can be made to totally disappear to leave a clear screen.
     
  6. Eric Peterson

    Eric Peterson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is lame beyond lame. One of my favorite things to do with animation is to pause and marvel at the skill of the artists.....and now Disney isn't going to allow me to do that? I guess that means that I won't be upgrading any of my Disney DVDs to Blu-Ray. This is a HUUUUUUUUGEE deal breaker for me.
     
  7. Southpaw

    Southpaw Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    2
    Seriously guys? You won't purchase your favorite titles with incredibly superior picture and sound quality simply because you can't pause the film in the way you want?
    I'm sure the studios are beating themselves up over this dilemma.....
     
  8. Eric Peterson

    Eric Peterson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1


    NOPE!


    I like to study the art of animation. I have countless books on the art form...and have been lustily looking forward to Blu-Rays tru 24FPS capbility for being able to pause on each individual cell. Apparently, Disney doesn't want us to, so I no longer have to send them my money.


    I will definintely not be upgrading my old DVDs to Blu, but in the future will I still only buy DVD (I don't know?)
     
  9. mattCR

    mattCR Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,512
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Real Name:
    Matt
    While Disney's Java based menus may caused this, as almost any HTPC owner could tell you, they can be (legitimately) disabled with playback software. I never enable the pop-backs etc. on any studio title, preferring software freezes instead. And so, Disney's move here will impact everyone using a set top player for sure, but not all of us.
     
  10. Peter Neski

    Peter Neski Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    31
    I was happy to see monsters inc lets you clear the stuff off to see a still frame,but the alice BR dosn't
     
  11. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,026
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.

    I want to watch the movie and couldn't care less about freeze frame and stills of a movie on my tv.
     
  12. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    What really annoys me is the way the timelines stay on the screen for several seconds after you un-pause playback.
     
  13. CraigF

    CraigF Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Toronto area, Canada
    Real Name:
    Craig
    ^ Now that you mention it, one of the Pixars is quite bad for that, it annoyed me too. Probably Up.


    It is apparent that some of us Pause a lot, for whatever reason. I am really bad for that, things need to be done, things need to be fetched. We are so spoilt we're complaining about our conveniences now.


    By accident, last night I figured out how to get rid of Universal's timeline, permanently, from a movie. Gets rid of the pop-up menu too though, got to see how portable it is between their BD stuff. I seem to watch an awful lot of Uni BDs...
     
  14. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    37,687
    Likes Received:
    5,329
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Yup. I really hate it, too, when the on-screen information gets in the way of the paused image.


    This also happens on my Dish Network DVR. I can't tell you how many times I pause a program to read something (a distant sign or something of that sort) only to be blocked by the on-screen time-line. It wreaks absolute havoc on trying to read Chuck Lorre's vanity cards at the end of programs like The Big Bang Theory. They are only on-screen a second. You have to pause them to read them...yet I can't.


    BTW, I cleaned up a couple of typos in the title of this thread.
     
  15. Timothy E

    Timothy E Supporting Actor
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    61
    Real Name:
    Timothy Ewanyshyn

    I have done the same thing with reading Chuck Lorre's cards on DirecTV. The bad thing is that the information bar obstructs part of the screen. The good thing is that the information bar disappears after a couple of minutes on pause and then the entire screen is unobstructed.
     
  16. Steve Christou

    Steve Christou Long Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    15,474
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    London, England
    Real Name:
    Steve Christou
    Gosh I've been missing out on all the freeze-frame fun. I can't remember the last film I purposely freeze-framed. Might have been Basic Instinct...


    I did temporarily pause The Wolfman a couple of hours ago (no resume, new technology, pfft!) the timeline appeared at the bottom of the screen, but most of the picture was still on show, not enough?
     
  17. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    The timelines often cover up the subtitles. That's what bothers me. Granted, it's not so hard to rewind a few more seconds, but it's just stupid.
     
  18. David Deeb

    David Deeb Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    57
    Real Name:
    David
    Much of this is the "solution in search of a problem". I mean how elaborate does a "pause" function need to be?


    Yet, we have studios using functions and features to "pretty"-up & add a little flair.

    Universal's stupid screen-saver wrecks havoc on my Sony. If I pause a Universal BD for more than :45 seconds, their screen saver starts. Sometimes it won't stop without me restarting the entire damn thing. And suffering through the load-up, the billion FBI warnings, disclaimers, Spanish disclaimers, Spanish FBI warnings & forced trailers all over again!!
     
  19. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    If you create authoring software that allows the programmer to add features A, B, & C, you can bet A, B, & C features will be on the disc. I think I've even seen the back of the cases brag about the "timeline" as a feature. Count me in the camp of "eh, who cares."


    BTW, with your DTV DVR once you hit pause, hit the exit key and the timeline bar will go away.
     
  20. Steve Christou

    Steve Christou Long Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    15,474
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    London, England
    Real Name:
    Steve Christou
    Btw many of todays HD TV sets have a built in freeze frame function if you must have that perfect still frame, it's on the remote, the downside is the film is still playing while you're ogling the shot. It works with tv signals it should work with dvds and blu-rays too.
     

Share This Page