DISH Install:Is a signal strength of 60 good enough for a picture?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ray Samaroo, Mar 29, 2001.

  1. Ray Samaroo

    Ray Samaroo Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 1999
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the reading I am getting on the dish500(119)
    I get a much stronger signal on the dish300(61.5).
    I am mainly interested in the hd hbo and showtime channels. Can I go ahead with this setup? Will I get my hd channels? Or are they dependent on the other satellites?
    Thanks,
    Ray
     
  2. John Stockton

    John Stockton Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2000
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    19
    How does the picture look at 60? If that is the best you can do and the picture looks fine, then it should be OK. The two different satellites are independent of each other so one should not affect the other. If you are unhappy you can always call Dish and have them send an installer over and see if he can do better.
    ------------------
     
  3. KevinLandry

    KevinLandry Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not great........if your signal is that low because of a wind-blowable obstruction (trees, bushes, etc.) you can bet on having signal dropouts......otherwise, your only nemesis will probably be rain fade - caused by weather patterns between your dish and the satellite.
    I would try your darndest to get into the 80's. It took me about 2hrs to get it on high 90's for all transponders.....don't give up yet.
    HDTV: don't know
    good luck....
    K-
     

Share This Page