What's new

Digital surround sound receiver/speakers for HDTV? (1 Viewer)

UniAce

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason
Hi all, (Note: I don' have very high A/V standards/expectations, as I am a student on a budget.) I have just gotten a Sharp 42" LCD HDTV (LC42SB45UT) and the picture is great for me, but the built-in speakers just aren't doing it for me. I'm mostly using the TV for gaming, and some DVD watching. What I'd like is to set up a halfway decent surround sound system as cost effectively as possible. Here's the tricky part: the TV ONLY has a digital audio (coaxial) output. I'm running an Xbox 360 to the TV via HDMI cable, so it looks like I can't separately run the audio output from that to anything else. The setup is in my living room, which is not huge so no space for big freestanding speakers, but those smaller speakers that you can mount to the walls would work. I don't have a receiver or speakers. So, what do I need to get, and what are the most cost-effective options?Thanks,~jason

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Hi Jason, welcome!

Once you start adding mutliple sources to a surround sound system, the TV no longer acts as the center of the system, your A/V receiver does.

The digital audio out on the TV isn't good for anything but stereo audio (at best) from external sources. The only digital audio that's actually output via that jack is what's picked up by the TVs internal tuner.

To really make a solid recommendation, we would need a specific budget to go on.